Sociology Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

To access online resources on this page (including online media, journal articles, databases, etc.):

Sign in with your Cruz ID when prompted, or
Login by session at Online Access Guide, or
Install the Nomad extension for seamless access to UCSC-subscribed journal articles.

Finding Data Sets

ICPSR Data Archive
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan and maintains its office in Ann Arbor.

Off-campus users must be signed into the VPN to access items.
VPN Help

To download data, create a personal account using your ucsc.edu email address. Files may require specialized software. Check with Campus ITS for software access.
PolicyMap
Easy-to-use online mapping with data on demographics, real estate, health, jobs and more in communities across the US.
Polling the Nations
(Note: online version of American Public Opinion Index). Compilation of 14,000+ surveys and polls conducted in the U.S. and 80+ other countries from 1986 to the present. Each record includes question, responses given, and sources.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Public Opinion Research Archive. Includes iPOLL databank and Gallup public opinion surveys conducted in the U.S. since the 1930s. Topics include politics, science, religion, current events, etc.
Social Explorer
Tool to visualize data and create thematic and interactive maps with raw data contained in this database. Includes current and historical census data and demographic information from:
- Entire US census (1790-latest available)
- American Community Survey (ACS) (2005-2018)
- Religious Congregations and Membership Study (RCMS) (1980-2010) - Census on religion in the US
- see complete list here.
See Guide for help getting started.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to statistical sources on the Web. Coverage: Annual volumes can be searched by individual year from 1878 to 2012.
WDI online
World development indicators (WDI) is the World Bank's annual compilation of data about development. Provides direct access to development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2001.

Finding Newspaper Articles

Nexis Uni
This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Formerly LexisNexis Academic
News and Newspapers from ProQuest
This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Black Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Sociology Research Guide

Connect from Off-Campus

Finding Data Sets

Finding Newspaper Articles

Land Acknowledgement