Skip to main content

University
Library

Physics 182 Scientific Communication for Physicists

Database Strategy

  • The databases on this page have peer reviewed articles, but not everything in the databases are peer reviewed. When in doubt, ask.
     
  • Find two or three databases that are best for your topic. Using more than one database is important.
    • For example, pairing Web of Science and Inspec: Web of Science is big and multidisciplinary, and Inspec is smaller and more focused.

Interlibrary Loan

Search other UC libraries and request via interlibrary loan In Melvyl, choose Request to borrow an item

Use Melvyl to request books and materials through Interlibrary Loan. See Melvyl Request- Show Me How for instructions.

Searching Tips

Database

How can you SORT your results? Look at the options!

Sort by TIMES CITED to find keystone / foundational papers for your topic.

How can you FILTER? Can you choose just the peer review articles? Or just review articles (easier to read)?

See what keywords are assigned to each search result. Use these to refine your search terms.

Papers

Use the references cited to find more relevant articles. 

If you see the same author name over and over, search by that author name. 

How do your search terms match the terms in the papers? Are there any changes you should make to your search terms?

UC-eLinks

Find the full text

UC eLinks button

Use UC-eLinks to access full text of an article. See the Use UC-eLinks guide for instructions.

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases: 

  • For Off-Campus Access - Use the Campus VPN 
  • For On-Campus Wireless Access - Use eduroam (note: Cruznet no longer works for access to library resources.)

Find Open Access versions of paywalled articles with the Unpaywall browser app.

Find subscribed access with the Nomad browser app.