University Library

Special Collections & Archives

Notice: The Special Collections reading room is open from 1-4 during intersession, December 12-22. We are closed December 23-January 2.

About UCSC Special Collections & Archives

The University Library's Special Collections offers UCSC's academic community, visiting scholars, and the general public access to the library's most unique holdings.

Established in the late 1960s, the department supports the University's academic program and its instructional and research interests. It also preserves and promotes collections that hold particular historical and cultural significance to an international scholarly community, houses and provides access to publications and archives focusing on the geographic region of Santa Cruz, and serves as the repository for UCSC administrative archives.

Please see our Principles and Standards for our collection policy.

UCSC Special Collections Request System

All requests for special collections materials are made through the UCSC Special Collections Request System. With this system you can:

  • Submit requests for books, journals/newspapers, manuscript and archives materials via:
  • Submit requests in advance of a visit to the library, or while at the library. Map requests must be submitted in advance.
  • Submit requests for scans or photocopies of special collections materials
  • Track the status of requests, and access detailed information about past requests

How to request a photocopy or scan

Search Cruzcat for archives and other material in Special Collections by limiting location to McHenry Spec Coll. Click Spec Coll Request.

Search the Online Archive of California for electronic finding aids to many of the collections. Click Request items.

Browse UCSC's Digital Collections on campus and local history, maps, and more. Click Request.

You may also fill out a manual request by logging into the UCSC Special Collections Request System, and clicking Copy/Scan Order.

Requesting Special Collections Items from NRLF

If you wish to request a Special Collections item stored at the Northern Regional Library Fascility (NRLF) please place a request by searching our Library catalog, Cruzcat, click Spec Coll Request, and submit a request form via the Special Collections Request System.

Special Collections items are shipped from NRLF once per week, on Thursday afternoons. Your request must be received by 3pm on Tuesday for delivery that same week. Only five items may be requested per week. If you need to request more than five items please contact Special Collections at speccoll@library.ucsc.edu or phone 831-459-2547. 

Special Collections & Archives staff

Please consult the campus directory for email and phone numbers of staff noted below.

Elisabeth Remak-Honnef, Head of Special Collections and Archives 

Luisa Haddad, Public Services Coordinator

Irene Reti, Director, Regional History Project

Janet Young, Special Collections Cataloger

Hisako Nakazawa, Conservator

Maureen Carey, Archives Processor

Debra Roussopoulos, Archives Processor

Mary deVries, Project Archivist

Alix Norton, Center for Archival Research and Training (CART) Archivist

Teresa Mora, University Archivist

Kate Dundon, Supervisory Archivist

Submit a Request

Please place all requests to access or reproduce special collections materials through the

UCSC Special Collections Request System

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections logo

Email: speccoll@library.ucsc.edu

Phone: (831) 459-2547

Mailing Address:

Special Collections and Archives
McHenry Library
University of California, Santa Cruz
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz CA 95064

Request a class visit

Special Collections and Archives offers subject-specific instruction sessions that introduce students to primary source materials as well as rare books, fine press and artists' books. These sessions are geared toward exposing students to unique and rare materials in Special Collections that relate to your course. We are happy to meet with you to discuss how you and your students can make optimal use of these materials within the context of your course. Please fill out a Teaching Support Request From to request a visit.

Hours

Intersessions and Summer
Monday-Friday 1:00 - 4:00 pm

Academic Quarters
Monday-Friday
10:00 am-noon
1:00-4:00 pm

Closed most major holidays

The open hours of Special Collections & Archives are subject to change between academic quarters and intersessions. Please confirm current hours before planning your visit.

Location & Directions

Special Collections is located on the 3rd Floor of McHenry Library.