Maps & Aerial Photos

Santa Cruz Digitized Maps

Physical copies of the historical maps are accessible to all UCSC and Santa Cruz community members for viewing in Special Collections & Archives. Select the option to 'request from Special Collections' for the map you want to view or email questions to research@library.ucsc.edu

Please note our collection of online historical Santa Cruz maps is currently unavailable. The Library is working to improve our online digital collections platform and the images of the maps have been temporarily removed.

Other Santa Cruz County Maps Online

Santa Cruz County GIS Map Gallery
Santa Cruz County Bicycle Map
From the Regional Transportation Commission.
Tsunami Inundation Maps
for Santa Cruz County, from Calif. Geological Survey.

California Maps Online

Cal Atlas
The Cal-Atlas site facilitates the coordinated and sustainable development, maintenance, licensing and sharing of geospatial data and web map services among government agencies.
U.S. Census Bureau Map & Data for California Counties

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Fire Insurance Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Contains high resolution downloadable full color detailed maps of selected California cities and towns from 1880-1960. Maps show building structures, building construction details, property ownership, property uses and other useful information. Database is searchable by address, geographic coordinates, or a clickable map interface.
Provides access to a digital collection of historical color fire insurance maps, real estate atlases, and similar land use maps for North America. High definition, color and gray-scale images display important historical details not visible on black and white map scans. Includes map research tools and search tips to make finding maps for a specific location easy. Maps include publications by Sanborn, Perris, Hexamer, Whipple, Baist, Bromley, Hopkins and others. Content and functionality will continue to be added.

Sanborn Maps Checklist at the Library of Congress
Discover areas in California and the U.S. that had maps produced, with links to color digital images where available.

Books at UCSC about Sanborn Maps

Fire Insurance Maps, Their History and Applications
Call Number: HG9771 .O85 1997
ISBN: 0965969800
Union list of Sanborn fire insurance maps held by institutions in the United States and Canada
Call Number: Z6026.I7 H63
ISBN: 0844403377

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library