Statistical Sources

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Online Compilations & Finding Aids

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to statistical sources on the Web. Coverage: Annual volumes can be searched by individual year or all years from 1929 to present.

Childstats
Single comprehensive source of statistics on children and families in the United States. Browse through reports or visit "Search Related Resources" and "Whom can I contact for Federal statistics on children and families?"

ICPSR Data Archive This link opens in a new window
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of hundreds of thousands of files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. ICPSR is a unit within the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan and maintains its office in Ann Arbor.

To download data, create a personal account using your ucsc.edu email address. Files may require specialized software. Check with Campus ITS for software access.

Find Articles

Start with one of these databases, depending on your topic:

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of articles from scholarly business journals and other sources. Subjects include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.

Find Reports

The following sources contain detailed descriptions of statistical reports and will lead you to other sources. They can be challenging to use, particularly for the novice. Ask Reference staff for assistance, if you have difficulty.

American Statistics Index (ASI)
Index to U.S. Government produced statistics and statistical reports (federal agencies, Bureau of the Census, etc.). Covers government finance, government programs, population characteristics, aid to foreign countries, etc.
In print: McH Ref HA37.U55A6

Index to International Statistics (IIS)
Statistics for foreign countries and United Nations reports. Also includes reports from organizationis such as the World Health Organization, World Trade Organization, etc.. Covers population, business, financial activities, foreign trade, education, health, and political characteristics.
In print: McH Ref HA154.I53

Statistical Reference Index (SRI)
Selective guide to statistical publications from private organizations and state government sources. Covers business, industry, finance, social trends, and government programs.
In print: McH Ref HA214.S73

Using these sources is a three step process:

Look up the subject or topic in the Index volume for a given year to find relevant publications. Write down the accession number.
Find the Abstract volume for the corresponding year and look up the accession number. This will take you to the comprehensive description of the publication.
Look up the publication title in library search to see if the UCSC library has access to it.

Off-Campus Access

Sign in from Off-Campus

Log in to Online Access

When you’re off campus, online books and articles don’t know that you are a UCSC student or faculty member eligible to access those materials.

Learn more about getting online access and avoiding paywalls from off-campus.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library