THEA 80C: Monsters

Full-text plays online

American Drama 1714–1915 This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable, browsable collection of over 700 plays
Asian American Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by Asian American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details for selected plays.
Black Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by African, African American, Caribbean, and Diaspora authors, 1850 to present. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details and images for selected plays.
English Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable, browsable database of over 3900 plays by 1200 authors, from the late thirteenth through early twentieth centuries
North American Indian Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text of plays by Native American playwrights.
North American Women's Drama This link opens in a new window
Full-text of plays by women playwrights.
Twentieth Century North American Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays and playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

For more help finding plays, see the Theater Arts guide.

Play Index This link opens in a new window
information about plays, searchable by title, author, subject, style, genre, and cast type.

playdatabase.com
Searchable by cast size, length, and keywords in the synopsis.
IMDb (The Internet Movie Database)
(IMDB) provides information on over 400,000 films; in the left-hand menu, under the category "Other Info" is "Box Office and Business" information that is not provided in the other sources; similarly, under "Promotional" one can view posters and trailers (requiring Windows Media) online.

Film Index International This link opens in a new window
This resource contains brief plot summaries, cast and crew info, awards and prizes, and references to critical articles and reviews of films and actors. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters. Coverage: 1900 - current

tv tropes
Crowd-sourced site tracking plot and character themes and motifs in television programming and beyond

The Oxford companion to theatre and performance
Covers styles and movements, organizations, regions and traditions. Focuses particularly on biographies of actors, playwrights, directors, and designers. Includes new entries the cover the people and companies who have come into prominence since the publication of the encyclopedia

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of over 200+ dictionaries, language reference works (including thesauruses), and encyclopedias in all subject areas published by Oxford University Press