Skip to main content

Summer 2021 Changes in the Library

Big changes are coming to the library this summer.  The buildings are opening after being closed since March of 2020, we're launching a new statewide discovery system for all UC Library collections, Melvyl is retiring, and the Science & Engineering Library lower level is undergoing renovations.  See below for details on the changes.

What's changing and when?

July 1: McHenry and Science & Engineering Library Buildings will be open!  See the hours page for details.

July 1-Spring 2022: Science & Engineering Library lower level will be closed for renovations.  Please check with the circulation desk for materials.

 

Which systems are changing?

Old Name Function New Name and Launch Date
Library Search Search and use materials from the UCSC Library collection (print & digital)

UC Library Search
Launches July 27

UC Library Search

UC eLinks Link to the full text of articles or ebooks from databases or Google Scholar

Get It at UC
Launches July-October 2021

Get It at UC

Citation Linker Find articles using a citation

Find Item by Citation
Launches July 27

MyILL View interlibrary loans and requests UC Library Search
This service will transition over several months, through the end of 2021.
Hathitrust ETAS access View electronic versions of books in Hathitrust that are still in copyright Ends September 1.  Hathitrust materials out of copyright will continue to be available.
     

 

Questions

What does UC Library Search mean for interlibrary sharing?

UC Library Search will not only have a simpler, more elegant look and feel, it will also streamline interlibrary sharing, making the most out of UC libraries’ expansive collections. You’ll be able to pick up UC Libraries’ materials from any campus: If you work at one UC campus but live closer to another, you can have library materials sent to the campus nearest to your home. As an added bonus, UC Library Search will let you find and request materials from outside the UC system using interlibrary loan.

 

What happens to the books I’ve borrowed through Interlibrary Loan? Do I need to return them?

If you no longer need items borrowed before the COVID-19 closure, please return them, and we will remove them from your library record. 

 

What will happen to my library account? Do I need to do anything? Do I need to return books?

Your current Library Search account will become a UC Library Search account. You don’t have to take any action unless you have bookmarked items in Search. (More on that below.)  Any checked-out items will automatically be transferred to your new UC Library Search account on the launch date of July 27, 2021.

You will be able to go to UC Library Search after July 27 to view a list of materials you have checked out and their due dates.

 

Will I need to create a new library account?

No, as a result of the switch to UC Library Search, students, faculty and staff will be able to use their CruzID username and password to log in to their library account in order to view checked out materials, place holds and renew items.  Once interlibrary loan has fully transitioned, this will include materials from UCSC and items borrowed from other libraries.

 

What should I do to prepare for the retirement of Melvyl?  

As UC Library Search will replace Melvyl and become the discovery tool to find and borrow materials from across all UC locations, you can take some steps to make this transition easier:

  • To keep personal saved lists, sign into your Melvyl account before July 27 and select “My Personal Lists” from the drop down menu.  Email your lists to yourself or export them into citation management software.

  • To capture saved searches, click on the “Saved Searches” link in the gray menu bar and make a note of your search terms.

  • If you have links to Melvyl records in your browser bookmarks, courses or elsewhere, you can log in to Melvyl and save them as a list to export.  Current permalinks in Melvyl will not work after the system retires.

 

What will happen to links to books in Library Search I’ve added to my syllabus and Canvas site?

If you have links to Library Search records in your browser bookmarks, course syllabi or elsewhere, you may need to update them after July 27 when the new system is live. Some databases and online journal links will likely change, so it is best to check them after the launch.

 

What will happen to my Favorites and Saved Searches in Library Search?

Favorites and Saved Searches will transfer to UC Library Search and will be accessible through the “My Account” links.

 

Will I be able to access UC Library Search from off campus?

Yes, but just like with databases, you will need to authenticate (via VPN or OCA) to access the full text of materials found in UC Library Search.

 

Will I now have access to articles and databases that my campus does not subscribe to but another UC does? 

No, UC Library Search will not change the database and journal subscriptions for each campus.  It will make it much easier for you to discover and request digital materials available at other campuses via interlibrary loan.

 

Will I be able to physically go to another UC campus to checkout and pick up library materials?

Yes, as a result of the enhanced interlibrary borrowing features of UC Library Search, you will be able to request items from other UCs to be sent to any campus for pickup. You will also be able to travel to any UC Library and check out items using your campus library card.