Music 200: Introduction to Research Methods

Welcome

Hello, and welcome to UCSC.

This page is lists the resources we discussed in our meeting.

Reach out to me for continued support and any questions.

Databases, disciplinary and cross disciplinary

Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from academic journals and popular periodicals. Coverage from 1996 onward, with additional coverage that starts in 1875.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from academic articles and popular periodicals. Covers 1970 to the present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes citations from academic journals. Covers traditional, classical, and popular music; 19th century to the present.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Search by subject, author, and journal title. Cited Reference Search finds articles that cite a specified author or article.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.

Other disciplines and area studies can be found by

Reference Tools

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies helps you orient yourself within the literature and identify the leading authors, key works, major debates, and ideas that have shaped the scholarly conversation.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Learn research methods from case studies and essays detailing specific methodologies. Includes practical information about research design, interviews, literature review and grant writing.

Catalogs and Finding Aids

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This is the FirstSearch version: A union catalog, it enables you to search the holdings of libraries across the country and internationally.
Catalogs generally contain: books, journal titles, sound recordings, movies, newspapers and so on.
OAC Online Archive of California This link opens in a new window
A resource that provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly a million collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world

Managing Your Research

Zotero Basics
...and/or, keep track of multiple citations with Zotero software. This software saves citation information for each of your source, and stores PDF attachments, and lets you generate a bibliography from this information in any citation style. This guide covers the basics to help you get started with Zotero, including downloading it for free.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library