Skip to main content

University
Library

Love on Haight Virtual Tour

A virtual, 360-degree tour of the 2017 exhibit in Dead Central, Love on Haight: The Grateful Dead and San Francisco in 1967

How to Experience the Virtual Tour

Click on number 1 in the image above to begin exploring a 360-degree image of the Love on Haight exhibit space and learn more about the items on display. To continue through Dead Central, click on the next room within the 360-degree tour, or come back here and click on Space 2.

 

About the Exhibit

This exhibition, opened in May 2017, presents primary materials that document daily life in the Haight-Ashbury during the Summer of Love, and is entirely comprised of items held in the UCSC Library’s Special Collections & Archives. The items on display are drawn from a variety of collections, including the Grateful Dead Archive, the Ruth-Marion Baruch Photographs, the Eric Thiermann Photographs, the James Gunderson and Peter Coha Comic Book Collection, and our rich collection of alternative periodicals and small press literary publications. The Summer of Love took place in the public sphere: the images and texts on display in Dead Central would have been available on the streets of San Francisco fifty years ago.

Credits

Exhibit curated by Kate Dundon, Mary deVries, Janet Young, and Beth Remak-Honnef.

Virtual tour created by Kristy Golubiewski-Davis, Ann Hubble, Alix Norton, and Reed Scriven.

Special thanks to Ryan Dzialo and Marcus Thayer in Library Operations. The University Library thanks the Scott Brittingham Family Foundation for its generous support of this exhibition.

Rights

These collections are available from the UCSC Library's Special Collections & Archives and the digital copies of the work are intended to support research, teaching and private study. All items may be protected by the U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S.C.). Use of this work beyond that allowed by fair use requires written permission of the copyright holder(s). Responsibility for obtaining permission, and for any use or distribution of this work, rests exclusively with the user and not the UC Santa Cruz Library. Requests for permission to publish must be directed to the rights holder. 

 

If you have questions or concerns, please contact us at speccoll@library.ucsc.edu.

Digital Exhibit

To learn more about the Summer of Love, visit the Love on Haight Digital Exhibit.

Contact Special Collections

Special Collections logo

Email: speccoll@library.ucsc.edu

Phone: (831) 459-2547

Mailing Address:

Special Collections and Archives
McHenry Library
University of California, Santa Cruz
1156 High St.
Santa Cruz CA 95064