Revisit the Library pre-work as needed. This form will be available throughout the quarter for you to consult
A note about using historic terms and phrases. Though we may no longer use language that is deemed out of date or even harmful, working with primary sources sometimes requires you to use terms and phrases that best represent past usage. To ensure you're using names of organizations that best represent your topic, try using the Gale Virtual Reference Library, a set of online encyclopedias, to verify proper names, etc.
Database for this class:
The following databases provide historic newspaper coverage for California. For Proquest, use the filters to ensure your source is a newspaper article.
The following databases provide a variety of primary documents related to California history.
The following databases enable you to search for secondary sources.
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Hello, My name is Annette and I'm the librarian for the Humanities & Arts.
You can schedule an appointment with me here or email me at research@library.ucsc.edu.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA