Skip to main content

University
Library

CRES 101: Research Methods and Writing in Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Databases for Primary Sources

Use your questions and search terms (keywords) to conduct searches in a primary source database. Browse for primary sources using the databases found in the link below


 

When you're off campus, the OCA login page will appear when you click on the link for a database. Enter your Student ID barcode and last name to login (ID must be activated in library first)

 

Recommended Databases

Video tutorials to improve your questions and search terms

These videos are intended to spark more precise questions and search terms. Being precise is necessary because databases match your search terms with what's in the database. Additionally, you may have to review the results because the database's contents may use discipline-specific terminology.

The videos will ask you to follow along by writing your own answers. Be sure to note the following:

  1. Get to your main question. Understanding when your question veers into a different topic is important to staying focused.  
  2. How to use your keywords. Database searches require you to broaden and/or narrow your terms as needed. 
  3. Keep a record of this work. For the outlining, writing, and editing process, it's important to keep track of the work you've done. This will aid discussions with your Professors or TAs.

Databases for finding references to Journal Articles and Books

Use your questions and search terms (keywords) to conduct a literature search in a scholarly database. Goals for using a scholarly database:

  1. Search journal articles using one of the databases listed below
  2. Save the citation information of each source 
  3. Download copies of each article or Request them through InterLibrary Loan.
  4.  Click UC-eLinks to locate copies of the source
When you're off campus, the OCA login page will appear when you click on the link for a database. Enter your Student ID barcode and last name to login (ID must be activated in library first)

 

Recommended Databases

Locate a source using a citation reference:

Evaluate your sources

The link below, "How to Evaluate Journal Articles," provides criteria to determine if the articles you find are suitable for your research needs.  Goals of Using the Criteria:

  1. To understand the source on a deeper level
  2. To be able to speak to the goals of the author of the source
  3. To understand how you will use the source in your research paper
     Note: The Evaluation Criteria may be useful for writing your Annotations or Literature Review.

Citing your sources and Writing your paper

The following guides provide examples specific to writing up your findings. Goals of Properly Citing in Chicago Format are as follows:

  1. Consistency with Chicago format in all your In-Text and Reference List citations 
  2. Credit given to each author of a source and their ideas and words in your paper
  3. The reader is able to distinguish when you're using someone else's research, ideas or words in your paper because you've include an appropriate citation. (Note: Your analysis of their research, ideas or words is your contribution)  
  4. The reader is able to match each In-Text Citation in your paper to an entry in your Reference List and vice versa.