Climate Change

Using this guide

This guide is useful for conducting research and identifying resources for the inter - and multidisciplinary on the topic of climate change. Students in ENVS-144/POL179-01 Global Climate Change Politics are encouraged to use this guide.

Academic Literature Sources

Below are links to databases for finding academic literature (journal articles, books, etc.) in the multidisciplinary field of climate change.

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
For On-Campus Wireless Access - Use eduroam
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.
Find Open Access versions of paywalled articles with the Unpaywall browser app.

Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
AGRICultural OnLine Access serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as a primary public source for world-wide access to information on all aspects of agriculture
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new window
Citations to working papers, conference proceedings, books, and journal articles in the area of international affairs. Many resources are full-text.
E&E News This link opens in a new window
E&E (Environment & Energy) News is composed of five daily publications that track energy, environmental, and climate policy, including ClimateWire, E&E Daily, E&ENews PM, and Greenwire. Also includes E&ETV and topical reports. Subscription does Not include EnergyWire.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citations, with some abstracts, of literature in economics from journals, essays, proceedings, books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of papers, articles, books, and government publications on education.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Describes materials in geology and geophysics, in particular: energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, erosion, nuclear reactor sites, the structure of the earth, and geostatistics. Includes abstracts.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
All aspects of human impact on the environment from scholarly, governmental, and general-interest sources. Content includes climate-change science and policy, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books, speeches, images, maps and flags. Multidisciplinary.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index (1914-current) This link opens in a new window
This database is concerned with current public policy issues and emphasizes factual and statistical information across the social sciences and government. It provides citations and abstractions for journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
PsycINFO (1806-current)
This database covers behavioral and social sciences. Use it to locate scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields. Includes document types, such as journal articles, book chapters, book reviews, and editorials.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
For medical articles - this is the place to go. For the most up-to-date access to peer-reviewed articles on an incredible variety of biomedical topics, including medical research, genetics, bioinformatics, physiology, oncology, nursing and more. If you don't see the Get it at UC button in the Abstract display, you are not in the customized UC version!
TRI: Toxics Release Inventory This link opens in a new window
The Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) is a publicly available EPA database that contains information on toxic chemical releases and waste management activities reported annually by certain industries as well as federal facilities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with over 1200 World Bank publications and working papers, searchable by keywords, title, and author.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-current) This link opens in a new window
The database provides citations and abstracts for journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Ask Us

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

Newspaper Sources

Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection provides full text content for local, regional, national and international news sources. Include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Provides a map-based interface to search and sort. Coverage date vary, 1978 - Current.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Formerly LexisNexis Academic

University Library