The UC Santa Cruz Library’s Digital Collections contain more than 100,000 items that are made available to support research, instruction and learning. Our Digital Collections include primary source photographs, audio and documents that are unique to the UC Santa Cruz Library.
You can find a complete list of the collections on our Digital Collections site.
Some digital primary sources may include language or depict actions that are dated, biased, or offensive. These records do not represent the views of the University Library. The intent is not to propagate or legitimize historical or ongoing biases; rather, we firmly believe that these materials provide significant historical evidence to help inform a more complete historical record. The context of the source item -- the circumstances in which these materials were created or compiled -- is critical to fully understand and assess its historical value or purpose as documentary evidence.
Scope
The goal of all of our digital collections is to preserve and provide access to important scholarly information for present and future generations. To ensure the integrity of the materials preserved therein, this policy governs any request to remove materials published in our digital collections. This policy aims to meet the obligations of copyright, privacy, revision, and access with transparency. In support of its mission, it is generally the policy of the University Library to provide access as broadly as possible to the materials we hold, consistent with our legal and ethical obligations and to remove materials only for compelling legal or ethical reasons.
We encourage you to consider requests to remove material carefully. The content published here has been identified as providing an important part of the cultural, political, and public record and we urge you to let us preserve and make this available over time, even as technology changes.
Personnel and terms
All requests to take down materials must be made by contacting us. Requests can be for a variety of reasons, including those based on:
The ultimate authority to make decisions regarding takedown lies with the University Librarian. The University Librarian may designate appropriate collection owners and other repository staff to make decisions in the manager’s place.
The UC Santa Cruz Library is committed to making our digital collections accessible to all users, whether they require the use of assistive technologies or general web browsers. While we have not provided transcripts for all materials in the digital collections, we will do so upon request.
Please note that transcripts are generated using automated technology.
To get help and to request transcripts:
Contact us or email: digitalcollections@ucsc.libanswers.com
Access the Aerial Photographs Collection for Santa Cruz and surrounding counties
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA