The resources on this page go beyond Google Scholar and Library Search. The resources on this page cater to a specific audience, in this case those who study history.
APPROACHES TO SEARCHING AND RESOURCES TO USE:
- Browsing specific and key Academic Journals.
- Searching across thousands of sources (including the key journals) in a Database.
- Finding databases on your own.
Note: Blend approaches 1 and 2 to get a diversity of perspectives.
Approach 1. Browsing Academic Journals. We use these when we're learning the ways others have researched a topic, the questions they are asking; the arguments they are making. An academic journal will provide a forum for research in a specific field. Often, we cite the articles contained in journals in our research papers. Often, these have downloadable PDF attachments.
Approach 2. Searching in a Database. We use these when we're conducting serious research on a topic. We do this because we want to see what other scholars/authors have researched and written outside of just one key journal and across a specific field of study or discipline and sometimes across the divisions (Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences). These databases use "Get it Now"
Note: In addition to the journals listed above, other journals will appear in the results of your database searches.
journal article-focused databases (narrower in focus)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Arts, humanities, and social sciences – full-text scholarly journal archives. The contents is indexed in Periodicals Index Online
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides citation and abstracts of journal articles and book reviews in World History, covers the period from 1450 to the present.
Book-focused databases (broader in focus)
ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
This is a digital collection of over 5,400 seminal books (ebooks) in the humanities and related social sciences. These titles are presented in collaboration with more than 120 publishers and Michigan Publishing. Books in the HEB collection have been recommended and reviewed by scholars and constituent learned societies of the American Council of Learned Societies. HEB is now hosted on the Fulcrum platform.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
To narrow the results, use the filters for peer-reviewed journals, books, or book chapters.
Approach 3. Finding databases on your own. Your course overlaps with many disciplines not covered here. Because this guide was developed in consultation with your professor, if you're not finding what you need from the resources here, talk to your professor or a librarian (using Ask Us button or contact on Home on this page). To find out about other databases, use these links:
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.