Science Communication

Article Databases

NewsBank Databases:

Access World News

US Newspapers

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Formerly LexisNexis Academic

Newspaper Databases
Newspaper databases subscribed by the Library.

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.

Historical Newspaper Databases
Library newspaper databases providing historical coverage

Preprints

Preprint servers are useful for finding unpublished and accepted manuscript versions of scholarship uploaded by authors. Discovery of preprints is possible in Google Scholar, but also possible by following the preprint servers on Twitter or using the browser extension unpaywall.org. Below is a non-inclusive list of preprint servers.

Popular preprint servers:

arXiv
bioRxiv
- Rxivist: tracks bioRxiv papers trending on Twitter
MedRxiv
ChemRxiv
eScholarship (California Digital Library)
preprints.org

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

For Off-Campus Access - Use the Campus VPN
For On-Campus Wireless Access - Use eduroam (note: Cruznet no longer works for access to library resources.)

Find Open Access versions of paywalled articles with the Upaywall browser app.

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

Citation Linker

Already know which article you need? Enter the citation in the Find Items by Citation form to access it.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library