Skip to main content

University
Library

Cultivamos Excelencia

Find Articles

Locate your sources

Articles give current and concise information; they report news, opinion, and research. They can be popular or scholarly and can contain primary or secondary information. Publications containing articles include newspapers and magazines (also referred to as journals, periodicals, or serials).

Use the Search box on the Library homepage to locate articles on any topic, most with full text.

Library Search homepage
 
See the Library Search Guide for help and search tips.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

How can you tell the difference between a scholarly and popular article?
 

scholarly journalsScholarly or Peer-Reviewed Articles

  • These are written by and for faculty, researchers, or scholars.
  • They use scholarly or technical language and tend to be longer and include full citations for sources.
  • They are peer-reviewed or refereed, which means articles are reviewed by other scholars before being published.

 

popular magazinesPopular Magazines and Newspapers Articles

  • These are usually written by journalists or professional writers for a general audience and are shorter, with a broader overview.
  • They are not evaluated by experts but by the magazine editors or staff.
  • They usually lack citations for sources used.


For even more detailed help see our
Distinguish between Scholarly and Popular Journals guide.

Additional Article Databases

The library has hundreds of specialized article databases. Use the library research guides to locate relevant databases in your subject area. Examples of some additional databases include:

     ***Go directly to "Latino Studies"  in Ethnic NewsWatch. Then add keyword(s) to locate relevant articles.

Find Articles with Full Text

You can use Library Search to locate articles on your topic.

As you type in your search topic, select the Scope for Articles 

Search scope articles

Narrow Your Results

Limit or filter your search results by using the tools on the right-hand side of the screen beneath "Refine My Results."

Search Refine options

•Sort by

•Show Only

•Resource Type

•Publication Date

•Subject

•Author/Creator

•Language

•Journal Title

•Collection

See Filtering Search Results for more details.

How Do I Find the Article?

Once you have your list of citations and abstracts, your next step will be to locate a copy of your article.

Some article have immediate full-text links; for others try the     icon to search for full text:

       Find Full text

 

Need more help? Check out the Navigate Search Results in Any Database (pdf) and Use UC-eLinks guides.