HIS 100: Skills and Methods

Class Activity 1: Evaluate a Primary Source

Document Analysis Worksheet
A form for analyzing Primary Documents. Created by Special Collections at UCSC. (1 page version)

Ways to get access to primary sources:

UCSC Special Collections & Archives - required "finding aids" to access hard copies
Through Databases - requires log in (see Primary Sources through Databases)

UCSC Special Collections & Archives Online

Online Archive of California - UCSC Collections
Finding Aids for the University of California, Santa Cruz archival collections.
To search collections throughout California, use OAC http://www.oac.cdlib.org/.
UCSC Oral Histories in Audio
Some of the Regional Oral Histories are available to stream. To see an example go here and on the bottom left corner click on "Supporting Material." Information to stream or download will appear above.
UCSC Digital Collections
Digitized photographs, maps, artwork, oral history transcripts, sound recordings, with an emphasis on rare and unique items in the UCSC collections.
Instructions can be found here
http://guides.library.ucsc.edu/c.php?g=119767&p=781363

Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums, including the ten campuses of the University of California.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Directory of collection descriptions of historical documents in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world. Useful for exploring on your own time Open Access digital collections.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

HIS 100: Skills and Methods

Class Activity 1: Evaluate a Primary Source

UCSC Special Collections & Archives Online

Land Acknowledgement