ANTH 176D: Colonial Encounters in the Americas

Welcome

Hello, and welcome to UCSC.

This page lists the resources we discussed in our meeting. Access the prework tutorial for this class here.

Reach out to the Research Librarians for support.

Resources for background / overviews

Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new window
Includes overviews of geographic regions, surveys of regional musical heritage, and descriptions of specific musical genres, practices, and audio performances.

International encyclopedia of dance

We have many more encyclopedias shelved in the library. Search UC Library Search or reach out to us for suggestions.

Databases for discovering journal articles

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A database that covers all the disciplines. Use filters to focus on specific subject areas.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
covering journals in the the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Use this to also find books. Use filters to highlight a particular type of source.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Database of citations to scholarly articles and documents covering Central and South America, Latin America, Mexico, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Topics include political, economic, and social issues as well as arts and humanities.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
Primary Sources from the early Americas.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books in the public domain. Good coverage of old books from before 1929.

As we discussed, there hundreds of databases. You can explore the guides for major or courses here to learn about other databases you can use or reach out to us for suggestions.

Additional resources

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library