HIS 190U: Power, Culture, and the FBI

Primary sources

OVERVIEW

In addition to visiting a Special Collections and Archives, primary sources can also be found online. Digitized primary sources are often made available for free online through libraries or other organizations; digitized primary sources are also exclusively available through library databases (unless you're able to travel to the institutions that hold the originals). These databases might be focus on a format type, subject, or theme. When using library databases, you will need to log in using the Campus VPN or your CRUZ ID and gold password

RESOURCES TO USE:

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window This database is made up of small, discrete archival collections. UCSC owns selected titles from the full Archives Unbound Collection. Tutorials on using Archives Unbound are available here.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window Includes a broad range of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. The collection brings together documents from all the presidential libraries and numerous executive agencies in a single database.
History Vault from Proquest This link opens in a new window
Proquest’s History Vault modules include Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle, Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War, Women's Studies, Workers, Labor Unions, Progressives, and Radicals, American Indians and the American West, American Politics and Society, International Relations and Military Conflicts, Latinx History and Revolutionary War and Early America (45 titles including NAACP papers, Plantation Records, American Indians and the American West).
News and Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide variety of newspapers, both national and internationa, some cover the full 20th century.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Books in the public domain, -1926

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

HIS 190U: Power, Culture, and the FBI

Primary sources

Land Acknowledgement