HIS 190X: History of the Atlantic World, 1492-1824

Primary Sources

OVERVIEW

Finding materials online is one of many way to access primary sources. Arranging a trip to an archive (here at UCSC or elsewhere) to engage with the contents of a collection is another way; one that provides opportunities to engage the materials in deeper ways. Online access is convenient, connecting you with materials that would otherwise not be available to you.

RESOURCES TO USE:

Empire Online This link opens in a new window
An interactive collection of primary source documents, sourced from leading archives around the world. Cover all continents and includes primary documents and secondary resources from the period which relate the story of the Empire from the French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German points of view, as well as that of indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America.
Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500–1926 This link opens in a new window
Through published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres, Sabin opens a window onto the Americas through which few get to glimpse.
Early Encounters in North America, 1534-1850 This link opens in a new window
Primary documents from early recorded history of North America. Includes transcriptions of letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans, Europeans, and Africans.
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention has been given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. Covers 1490 - 2007.
Colonial America This link opens in a new window
UCSC has only Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries:
Documents the early history of the colonies, and includes founding charters, material on the effects of 1688’s Glorious Revolution in North America, records of piracy and seaborne rivalry with the French and Spanish, and copious military material from the French and Indian War of 1756-63.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639–1800 This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America during the 17th and 18th centuries.Topics range from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and more.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more, published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized copies of most every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Newspapers

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Most newspapers were published in the English language. For researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Burney Newspapers Collection, 17th-18th Century This link opens in a new window
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney represent the largest single collection of 17th- and 18th-century English news media available from the British Library
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690 - 1876 This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital copies of newspapers published in the U.S. Includes 700+ newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.
Early American Newspapers, Series 2, 1758-1900 This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital copies of newspapers published in the U.S.Includes 200+ 18th & 19th century titles, between 1758 and 1900.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 (updated often) This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Times (London, England) from 1785-(approx) 2014. Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

HIS 190X: History of the Atlantic World, 1492-1824

Primary Sources

Newspapers

Land Acknowledgement