Chinese Studies

Digital Archival Collections

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog & Website This link opens in a new window
CRL digitizes materials from their collections to support research and teaching. UCSC is a CRL member; CRL negotiates favorable terms with publishers for member institutions to acquire major electronic resources locally or in the case of Microfilm, through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Ailing Zhang (Eileen Chang) Papers, 1919-1994.
Eileen Chang (Ailing Zhang 張愛玲, 1920-1995) was one of the most influential Chinese writers of the twentieth century. The new digital collection Ailing Zhang (Eileen Chang) Papers, 1919-1994 include selected correspondence (primarily with literary critic Dr. C.T. Hsia 夏志清) and essays, a full version of the manuscript The Sing-Song Girls of Shanghai, and photographs. All the digitized items come from the Ailing Zhang Papers held by the USC Special Collections, which consist of six boxes of correspondence, manuscripts, essays, photographs and other materials.
more...less...
You can find a complete list of items and their descriptions in the finding aid: http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/c85m68v2/admin/.
台灣舊照片資料庫
國立臺灣大學圖書館收藏豐富的日治時期出版品，該批館藏涵蓋臺灣相關主題，包括教育、衛生、政治、經濟、交通、地理環境、植物、動物、礦產、林產、牧產、農產、社會、文化、語言、人類學、文學、旅遊等，內容十分多樣而豐富。該批出版品裡有不少附有插圖、照片，本館自該批館藏中挑選與臺灣相關的照片加以數位化，並建置詮釋資料總計三萬七千餘筆，提供完善的檢索機制。使用者除可於臺灣舊照片資料庫查詢詮釋資料，亦能線上瀏覽數位圖像，更能就學術合理使用範圍內下載詮釋資料與數位圖像。
台灣美術展覽會資料庫 (1927-1943)
中央研究院數位典藏資源網
台灣美術展覽會資料庫包括十六回展覽（1927-1943）與2144件作品的圖檔與基本文獻，此外還提供作者（畫家）之基礎資料與相關之一手文獻參考資料。這是十多年來在教學相長的環境下，與許多位研究生、助理共同耕耘的成果。好比自許為環保的農夫，園地裡珍貴的成果都是實際田野調查，反覆驗證的收穫，沒有隨便照抄市面的成品，受到不必要的汙染，儘可能回歸原始真實的證據，透過最後的資料庫設計師邱函妮的仔細剪裁，方便檢索使用

Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. Comprehensive documentation examines the political background of the civil war, the failed efforts of American mediation, and the ramifications of Communist victory.
Chinese recorder and the Protestant missionary community in China, 1867-1941 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. During its long run, The Chinese Recorder (published in English in China) covered the beginnings of mission schools, the crusade against opium, the Boxer Rebellion, ecumenical missionary conferences, the 1911 Revolution, the growth of the Chinese church and the rise of communism in China.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. This collection covers U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and includes documents related to the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Covers 1989-1993.
Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. These files represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai's former international settlement; an opportunity to explore a unique period in China’s struggle toward a modern existence through these settlements. Covers 1894-1945.
Global missions and theology This link opens in a new window
An Archives Unbound collection. This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches. This collection includes materials on missionary activities among Native Americans and African Americans, both slaves and freed men. In addition, it highlights activities in far-flung regions and countries, such as Africa, Fiji and the Sandwich Islands, India, China, Southeast Asia, Japan and Hawaii. Covers 1800-1899.