Environmental Studies Research Guide

Sustainability Articles and Books

Because JSTOR has to maintain a "moving wall" that limits up-to-date journal content be sure to consult the Scholarly Articles & Books tab to find the most recent scholarly and general articles.

Sustainability Content on JSTOR
Search for articles, chapters, and reports on JSTOR related to the field of sustainability.
JSTOR Daily: Sustainability & The Environment Feed
Connects recent news and current affairs to content on JSTOR. Good starting point for paper topics and class discussions

Organizations & Agencies

United Nations Sustainable Development
UN Development Programme-Sustainable Human Development (UNDP)
Sustainability (US EPA)
US EPA Green Power Initiative
Discover definitions of key terms related to environment, climate and green energy
Center for Climate & Energy Solutions
Non-profit non-partisan group advancing policies and actions to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. Includes helpful history of federal action on climate issues at Congress Climate History

Data

Manufacturing Energy Consumption Survey (MECS)
Energy usage survey conducted every four years by the Dept. of Energy. Provides detailed data of energy use by fuel type, etc. for manufacturing establishments.
Data.gov
Find datasets from federal agencies. Site still under construction, but can be helpful for finding data produced by U.S. government agencies.
UNdata
Contains 30 UN statistical databases that can be searched together. "The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators"

Energy

Clean Energy Resources (US EPA)
Clean energy policy and technological solutions
Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy (US DOE)
Publications Library at the Center for Climate and Energy Solutions
Provides reports and analysis on renewable energy sources.

Consumer Websites

Sustainable.org
Sustainable Communities Online. Find ideas and case studies across a range of topics related to sustainability
Ethical Consumer
Research sustainability efforts of major companies and retailers.This is a British site, but includes some American companies.

Food & Agriculture

Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)
FAOLEX Database
Legislative and policy database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture and natural resources.
Food Environment Atlas (USDA)
California Department of Food and Agriculture
Information on California crops, livestock, pests, agricultural markets, and more.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library