Biology: Molecular, Cell & Developmental Research Guide

Protocols / Methods

JoVE : Journal of Visualized Resources This link opens in a new window
This journal provides videos of protocols and methods in a variety of disciplines. A portion of the database titled "Education" can be used for instructional purposes. "Research" videos are used to explain experimental methods for reproducibility.
Protocols.io This link opens in a new window
Protocols.io is an open access platform for the creation and sharing of detailed methods and protocols. Acquired by Springer Nature July 2023.

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Source of new and classic research techniques. Coverage includes cell and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging.
Nature Methods
Nature Methods is a laboratory techniques journal for researchers working in the fields of biotechnology, drug discovery or chemistry with crossover in the life sciences. It also has a section devoted to application notes.
Nature Protocols
Journal of experimental and laboratory protocols for bench researchers primarily in biology and chemistry.

Protocol Exchange This link opens in a new window
The Protocol Exchange is an open repository for sharing scientific research protocols. These protocols are posted directly on the Protocol Exchange by authors and are made freely available to the scientific community for use and comment. From Springer Nature

Bio-protocol
An online peer-reviewed protocols journal with no access fees and no publication fees. Started in 2011 by a group of Stanford scientists.

Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Selected Wiley protocols purchased in bioinformatics, cell biology, cytometry, human genetics, immunology, magnetic resonance imaging, microbiology, molecular biology, neuroscience, nucleic acid chemistry, pharmacology, protein science, and toxicology.
Methods in Enzymology This link opens in a new window
Online collection of detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques contained in over 400 volumes. You can search across the collection by title, author, abstract and keyword, or browse by individual volume.
Probe: Reagents for Functional Genomics This link opens in a new window
The NCBI Probe Database is a public registry of nucleic acid reagents designed for use in a wide variety of biomedical research applications, together with information on reagent distributors, probe effectiveness, and computed sequence similarities.
Springer Protocols This link opens in a new window
Years available:1980-2011. Includes protocols from Humana's series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a number of other laboratory handbooks.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Identify or learn more about appropriate methods to design and conduct research and analyze results in Social Sciences and Health fields. Provides project planning support, case studies outlining research methods, downloadable teaching datasets, and full-text ebooks detailing specific methodologies. Includes practical information about research design, writing literature reviews, and grant writing. Access to video content is not included.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (OHE), replaces Safari Books Online This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education (OHE) is a collection of full-text books and other resources specializing in computer programming and information technology. The database includes more than 35,000 book titles, plus 30,000+ hours of video, learning paths, case studies, expert playlists, audio books, and more. Access with your Gold password after choosing University of California Santa Cruz from the list of institutions. Replaces our Safari subscription.

UCSC School of Engineering Technical Reports
Collection of technical reports by UCSC engineering faculty and students. From 1988-present.
UCSC SSRC Technical Reports
Collection of technical reports written by faculty and students in the Storage Systems Research Center.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Biology: Molecular, Cell & Developmental Research Guide

Protocols / Methods

Land Acknowledgement