Music 11D: Introduction to World Music

Library Resources for Peer-Reviewed Sources

► Start broad and narrow things down: Library Search and JSTOR are great because they cover a broad range of subjects. As a searcher, you then can narrow down your results to your needs. Try some searches and use some of the strategies listed below the database links.

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Search and once you get results filter them by:
- Show Only "Peer Reviewed Journals"
- Switch up your search. Instead of Peer Reviewed, opt for Resource Type "Book Chapters"
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search and once you get results use "Subjects" to narrow these down to a specific area of study, for example:
- Music
- Performing Arts
- Cultural Studies

► Or Start by already narrowing down to Music sources: The following specialized Music databases allow you to dig more deeply into the subject matter. The advantage of using this type of database for this assignment, is that music is a given. As an example, if you search the phrase "Queer spaces," the results are going to be more broadly about music as it relates to this topic.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window Provides citations for content from the late 18th century to the present. Coverage is international and multilingual. Offers broad and detailed coverage of music literature, from hip hop to Händel, ethnomusicology to music therapy, elementary music education to advanced music theory.
Music Index This link opens in a new window Citations from 640+ international music periodicals. Includes classical and popular music topics, book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window Includes abstracts (and full text of many) articles from 1874 to current, covering from the scholarly to the popular of music periodicals. Coverage is international and includes a broad spectrum of topics including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition on a diverse array of musical genres.

For these databases, make sure to:

Filter to Peer Reviewed articles or journals
Use the links to get to the full text: Look for PDF Full Text or the UCeLinks button (opens options)

► Reach out to us for help (See the box Get Research Help for links):

We can help with brainstorming keywords
We can answer your questions about how to log in or accessing full text
We can help you figure out if your article is peer reviewed

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Music 11D: Introduction to World Music

Library Resources for Peer-Reviewed Sources

Land Acknowledgement