Biology: Molecular, Cell & Developmental Research Guide

Get Started

Check out the tabs on the left for focused recommendations for resources in each category.

Top Article Databases for MCDB:

PubMed This link opens in a new window
For medical articles - this is the place to go. For the most up-to-date access to peer-reviewed articles on an incredible variety of biomedical topics, including medical research, genetics, bioinformatics, physiology, oncology, nursing and more. If you don't see the Get it at UC button in the Abstract display, you are not in the customized UC version!
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences. Very interdisciplinary within biology, including biochemistry, ecology, genetics, microbiology, ocean sciences, plant biology, and zoology. Can sort by citation count.
F1000Prime This link opens in a new window
A unique post-publication peer review service that highlights and recommends the most interesting articles published in the biomedical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of more than 8,000 leading experts in Biology and Medicine.

Multidisciplinary Databases:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Sign into your library account to see items to which we subscribe.
Academic Search Complete from EBSCO (ASC) This link opens in a new window
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full-text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Request a one-on-one
with a librarian by Zoom

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
- You can login from the Access guide
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.

Citation Linker

Already know which article you need? Enter the citation in the Find Items by Citation form to access it.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library