Skip to main content

University
Library

Journal & Database (Serial) Cancellation Review Process 2018-2019

Journal Survey Details

Link Directly to the Journal Survey:

The Survey is focused on the local journal subscriptions because these are the subscriptions we have total decision-making authority over.

CDL Journal Packages: If you want to provide feedback about CDL journal packages (titles we purchase with the other nine campuses), please use the feedback form. Information about what titles are in the CDL journal packages is available on the right side of this screen under the help with survey/feedback header.

What is the journal survey?

  • This is a survey about the Library's current locally subscribed journals. It is open to faculty, staff and graduate students and runs from October 11, 2018 to January 23, 2019.
  • Faculty, staff and graduates are asked to tell us about which current journals are most imperative to have access to online or on site to support their research and teaching needs and which journals, while also important, can be accessed through alternative methods like Interlibrary Loan (article delivery averages 2-3 days). 

Why are we doing this?

  • The cost of journal subscriptions has significantly outpaced inflation.
  • Inflationary and budgetary pressures forced a UC-wide revision to the historical cost sharing model used to license and pay for UC systemwide journal packages and databases (Wiley, Springer, Project Muse, etc.)

What is the CDL Journal Package List?

The CDL journal packages are big sets of journals we subscribe to across the UC libraries. These journal packages cannot be easily broken up into smaller more cost effective journal packages. All of the campus libraries need to agree about what titles to include and what titles to pay for. These packages are up for review by all of the campus libraries.

  • Feedback needed about the CDL journal packages:
    • please tell us what journal packages your research, teaching and study needs are most dependent on (feel free to be specific about sets of titles and ranges of dates needed, for example, tell us if current issues of a journal are critical or if back issues are critical for your research).

This information will be very helpful in communicating updates about journal package negotiations and will help us know what specific aspects of the package are most important for the UCSC community.

What is the database list?

  • The database list includes all of the databases all or most of the UC Libraries pay and subscribe to together.
  • These databases are up for cancellation review by all of the UC campuses right now.
  • Some of these databases may be cancelled this year. UCSC is doing everything it can to keep our subscriptions active, but if too many campuses drop out of the agreement, we could lose access. We will alert you if that happens. 
  • Feedback needed about the databases:
    • please tell us if any of the databases are central to your research, teaching and study needs.

Having this information will be very helpful in communicating updates and letting us know which databases are most important to the campus.

 

Help with Survey/Feedback