Skip to main content

University
Library

Remote Access to Library Resources & Services

Online Course Materials

Licensed online Library resources are available for use in your classes. Where possible, provide students a direct link to each item (look for a “permalink”). Students should be reminded to use the campus VPN to ensure seamless access to resources from off-campus.

Contact research@library.ucsc.edu for assistance linking to Library content or locating online course materials.

eBooks

  • eBooks available through JSTOR: Can be used in classes immediately
  • Other eBooks available through UCSC (non-JSTOR): Publishers and authors limit access to a small number of users or cut off access after a certain number of uses. If you plan on using an ebook (other than one from JSTOR) as required reading, let the Library know by emailing research@library.ucsc.edu and we will confirm if a multi-user license can be obtained. If we cannot obtain such a license, we will work with you to identify an alternate resource.
  • eBooks not currently available through UCSC: If you need an ebook that the Library does not already have in its collection, submit your request via the Recommend a Purchase form.

Video & Audio

The Library licenses several streaming video and audio collections that you can use in your classes or have students view on their own. They can be located through the main Library Search or through our audio and video databases. For more details, visit the Streaming Media page.

Course Reserves

Print books and other physical materials on Course Reserves will be ready for students to use when the library buildings re-open. Any library-owned ebooks and streaming films will be added to Course Lists before the start of Spring Quarter. We are happy to look for institutional ebook options to support remote instruction. To submit new course reserve requests, please use the appropriate form: Book Reserves request form or the Media Reserves request form.

Remote Instruction Support

Research librarians, special collections librarians, and digital scholarship librarians are available for instruction support of remote teaching and learning. Submit a teaching support request or request a remote consultation by email to research@library.ucsc.edu.

See the CITL’s Teaching During Unplanned Events page for University resources on remote instruction.

Special Collections & Archives

The Special Collections and Archives Reading Room and in-person services are closed. All other services will be limited and delayed. Digitization services are not available at this time.

Minimal reference services will be managed remotely by staff. Reference inquiries that require materials investigation will be held in order of when they were received and responded to once the campus is opened. We encourage researchers to browse our digital collections as well as online digital repositories such as Calisphere. Please submit all questions and requests to speccoll@library.ucsc.edu.

Digital Scholarship

Digital Scholarship Commons and Digital Scholarship Innovation Studio spaces:
The Digital Scholarship Commons and the Digital Scholarship Innovation Studio are both closed, including equipment checkout and access to DSC Lab software. We are in the process of working with ITS to determine which software we might be able to make available to students off campus.

Digital Scholarship Instructional Support:
The Digital Scholarship department is prepared to help faculty develop skills in video editing, audio editing, and digital exhibit creation. Reach out to us at digitalcommons@ucsc.edu with questions about how to create digital content. If there is something you want to do, but don’t know where to start or how to do it, please ask us. We will do our best to point you towards meaningful resources to help you navigate your digital media creation questions and are currently working on creating new online tutorials geared towards supporting remote instruction. Digital Scholarship librarians will be holding online workshops throughout the Spring Quarter and will be posted on our Events page.

Where possible, we are available to provide online workshops on the skills we support for UCSC classes or groups. Requests can be emailed to digitalcommons@ucsc.edu. We are aiming to continue to hold peer to peer support hours using Zoom. More information will be on our Get Help page as available.