Skip to main content

University
Library

Center for Archival Research and Training (CART)

2019-2020 Projects

Hayden White Papers

View the completed collection guide for the Hayden V. White Papers.

 

hayden white portrait

In Summer 2019, CART fellows Christian Alvarado and Patrick King processed the papers of Hayden White, a well-known historian, author of Metahistory: The Historical Imagination in Nineteenth-Century Europe, and Professor Emeritus in UCSC’s History of Consciousness department.

One fellow surveyed, arranged, organized, and described the materials in paper format that Dr. White created over the course of his career, ranging from the 1940s to his death in 2018. These materials include correspondence; teaching files; research notes; drafts of his writings; reviews; publication translations; White’s work as a student; lecture notes and other documentation from conferences, seminars, guest lectures, and other speaking engagements; and files White kept on authors and topics of interest to him. Also included are White’s documents pertaining to the White v. Davis case at UCLA in the 1970s, the California Supreme Court case that determined the police surveillance of political activity without reasonable suspicion of a crime was unconstitutional in California.

 

The second CART fellow surveyed, arranged, organized, and described White’s digital files, which range from the 1980s to 2018. The fellow appraised digital content for scholarly value, migrated original files to archival formats for long-term preservation and access, and wrote detailed descriptions that will assist future researchers in finding relevant materials. Digital material contains content similar to paper files, but also has manuscript drafts, research notes, photographs, and other digital materials that offer a more contemporary complement to the physical materials in the collection, and reveal a nuanced view of White's professional career. 

 

hayden white notes hayden white books

 

 

hayden white legal hayden white floppy disks

 

For more information on Hayden White, please consult his oral history, Hayden White: Frontiers of Consciousness at UCSC, part of the UCSC Regional History Project.

 


Kathryn E. Metz Papers

View the collection guide for the Kathryn E. Metz Papers.

 

kay metz

CART fellow Emily Travis processed the papers of Kathryn (Kay) Metz, Professor Emerita of Art who established the printmaking department at UC Santa Cruz in 1971. Before coming to UC Santa Cruz, Metz earned her MFA at UCLA, studied in Paris at the print studio Atelier 17, and taught at NYU. During her time at Santa Cruz, Metz developed innovative courses in the Art department, hosted numerous guest lectures, and mentored students throughout their careers. Following her retirement from UCSC in 1992, she continued painting and staying locally involved in arts and environmental initiatives. In 1997, UCSC's literary magazine Quarry West devoted its 33rd issue entitled “In Celebration of the Muse” to Santa Cruz women involved in the arts, which included pieces created by 12 local printmakers in honor of Kay Metz.

 

 

metz artwork metz artwork 2

 

The collection, which spans 35 linear feet, includes examples of Metz’s artwork including prints, portfolios, her files on specific projects, and exhibition files. Her teaching files include course materials for classes she developed in the UCSC Art department as well as administrative files which provide a glimpse into the Art department’s activities in the 1970s and 1980s. Also included in the collection are materials from Metz’s personal life, including diaries, notebooks, travel accounts, correspondence, her early school work, collected ephemera, and family photographs and albums.

metz album

 

metz sketches

 


Santa Cruz Local History - Hihn Family Papers

View the collection guide for the Frederick A. Hihn Records.

 

hihn ledgers circus

 

CART fellow Vivian Underhill processed collections related to local Santa Cruz history in the 19th and 20th centuries from multiple generations of the Hihn family, including entrepreneur and Hihn family patriarch Frederick A. Hihn. F.A. Hihn settled in Santa Cruz in 1851 after immigrating from Germany during California’s Gold Rush and was integral in the founding of Capitola as well as the California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. The Hihn family archives, along with materials from F.A. Hihn’s colleague C.B. Younger and his family, make up UCSC’s Hihn-Younger Archive, which has served as the foundation for many of the local history materials in Special Collections & Archives.

 

The papers of F.A. Hihn include personal letter books and land ownership records from the turn of the 20th century, business ledgers, deeds, maps, and records of real estate and city water usage. This project also includes the papers of Teresa Hihn Moore, granddaughter of F.A. Hihn, which include family photographs, scrapbooks, book manuscripts, correspondence, ledgers, artifacts, and ephemera. The Hihn family collections also contain maps and records of several early Santa Cruz county businesses including the F.A. Hihn Company, the Capitola-Hihn Company, the Santa Cruz Railroad Company, the Santa Cruz Water Company, and the Valencia-Hihn Company.

 

orchard co hihn family photos 3

2018-2019 Projects

Trianon Press Archive

View the collection guide for the Trianon Press Archive.

 

metal type pieces

trianon prints and packages

 

CART fellows Jessica Calvanico, Morgan Gates, Hannah Newburn, and Nicholas Whittington worked on processing the archives of the Trianon Press, a publisher of exceptional art and fine-press books founded by Arnold Fawcus in Paris, which operated from the mid-1940s through the 1980s. Most known for its close relationship with the William Blake Trust and its production of fine facsimiles of Blake’s illuminated works, Trianon Press also produced publications such as Le Dur Desir de Durer by Paul Éluard, with illustrations by Marc Chagall; The Haggadah for Passover, illustrated by Ben Shahn; Sur Marcel Duchamp by Robert Lebel; Gislebertus, Sculptor of AutunLes Baigneuses by Paul Cézanne, with text by Jean Cassou; and Miserere by Georges Roualt. To make Trianon’s virtually indistinguishable facsimiles, Fawcus employed two intricate techniques in the printing process: collotype, a photographic printing process using light-sensitive sheets of gelatin; and pochoir, a stencil process used to hand color the collotype prints, which sometimes involved as many as 42 individually applied layers to produce a single plate.

The full Archive contains over 500 boxes of materials from the Press, including stencils, negatives, maquettes, plates, and other materials from the entire printing and production process up to the final publication, for both completed and uncompleted projects. Also included are correspondence with authors and artists such as Aldous Huxley, Robert Graves, Marcel Duchamp, and Ben Shahn; business records; craftsmen’s color notes and time sheets; and photographs.

For more information on the Trianon Press, consult Recollections of Trianon Press, an oral history given by Julie Fawcus.

 

trianon documents

trianon correspondence

 

 

 


Artwork of the Grateful Dead

View the collection guide for Grateful Dead Records: Artwork. 

Includes a browsable index of artwork images, which can be downloaded as a PDF.

 

CART fellow Wyatt Young organized and described the Artwork series of the Grateful Dead Records, and collaboratively curated an exhibit in Dead Central entitled When We Paint Our Masterpiece: The Art of the Grateful Dead Community. This series of over 80 linear feet contains striking visual materials created by numerous professional and amateur artists; some gifted to the Grateful Dead, some created by the band members themselves, and some created for albums and other projects by the Grateful Dead. 

 

framed posters

grateful dead artwork pieces

 

For more information on the Grateful Dead Archive, consult the UCSC Grateful Dead Archive website and the Grateful Dead research guide, and visit the Grateful Dead Archive Online (GDAO).

2017-2018 Projects

other minds logograteful dead stickers

 

The collections processed as part of the 2017-2018 CART Program are thematically connected by music, and comprise some of our most prominent archival holdings. The records of the Other Minds organization and the Grateful Dead Records complement many of our existing processed collections, such as the Lou Harrison papers, the John Cage mycology collection, the Frank Kofsky Audio & Photo Collection of the Jazz and Rock Movement, and many other art, photography, and literary collections in our holdings.

 

Other Minds Records

View the collection guide for the Other Minds Records.

CART fellows Jay Arms, Madison Heying, and Jon Myers participated in the processing of the records of Other Minds, the acclaimed San Francisco-based nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion of experimental music. This collection includes over 100 boxes of programs, artwork, photographs, scores, correspondence, artist files, and business records of the organization. In addition, the collection includes over 4,000 reel-to-reel audio tapes of interviews and performances from the tape archive of the Berkeley-based independent radio station, KPFA. 


Grateful Dead Business Records

View the collection guide for the Grateful Dead Business Records.

CART fellows Alessia Cecchet and Gabriel Mindel participated in the processing of the Grateful Dead business records. These materials comprise over 400 boxes of partially processed materials such as tour information, contracts, ledgers, tickets, merchandise, correspondence, accounting files, and promotional materials.

2016-2017 Projects

2017 cart exhibit banner

Shakespeare Santa Cruz Records

View the collection guide for the Shakespeare Santa Cruz Records.

CART fellows Megan Martenyi, LuLing Osofsky, and Alex Ullman participated in the processing of the Shakespeare Santa Cruz Records, a large collection of materials that document the theatrical productions of Shakespeare Santa Cruz from 1981-2014. Shakespeare Santa Cruz was an independent theater festival that presented plays by Shakespeare and other dramatists using contemporary methods of directing, designing and acting. This collection documents the artistic and administrative history of this unique organization, and complements several existing performing arts collections in UCSC’s Special Collections & Archives. The collection includes slides, photographs, prompt books, scripts, programs, artwork, and marketing, development, financial, and administrative files. 


UCSC Feminist Studies Department and Women of Color Research Cluster

View the collection guides for the Feminist Studies Department Records and the Women of Color Research Cluster Records.

CART fellow Alina Fernandez participated in the processing of the Records of the Feminist Studies Department, which documents the founding of UCSC's Women’s Studies Department in 1974 through its name change in 2005 to the Department of Feminist Studies. This collection documents the administrative history of a pioneering department, one of the first of its kind in the United States. The collection includes materials documenting the establishment of the program, newsletters, course descriptions, audio and video tapes and, photographs, as well as administrative files. Alina also processed the collection of records from the UCSC Women of Color Research Cluster, which was founded in 1991 by graduate students and affiliated faculty studying Women of Color on the UC Santa Cruz campus.


Raymond F. Dasmann Papers

View the collection guide for the Raymond F. Dasmann Papers.

CART fellow Maggie Wander participated in the processing of the papers of Raymond F. Dasmann. Dasmann was a professor of ecology at UCSC and a pioneer in international environmentalism. The papers document Dasmann’s entire career beginning as a student of A. Starker Leopold at UC Berkeley through his retirement from UCSC in 1989. This 74 box collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, research notes and teaching materials. 

2015-2016 Projects

Lick Observatory Records

telescope

The Lick Observatory Archive includes records from 1870-1945 describing the founding, construction, and operation of one of the most historically significant observatories in the world. This unique archive documents the development of observational astronomy during the 19th and 20th centuries, including evolutions in technology, photography, and computing. The Archives' extensive collection of historical photographs includes portraits of astronomers and other prominent scientists, scenes of life at the observatory on Mount Hamilton, observational instruments, celestial objects, and documentation of expeditions around the world. CART fellows Christine Turk and Alex Moore have worked alongside an archivist to inventory, arrange, and describe selected components of the archive.

 

The following collection guides are now available on the Online Archive of California:


Kenneth S. Norris Papers​

norris with students

 

CART fellow Danielle Crawford worked to to inventory, arrange, and describe  the Kenneth S. Norris. Ken Norris was a marine mammal biologist, conservationist, and educator known for his pioneering research in dolphin echolocation. A professor of natural history for 18 years at UCSC, Norris helped write the Marine Mammal Protection Act and played a major role in establishing the UC Natural Reserve System. His papers include field notebooks, correspondence, photographic slides, and teaching materials that document his research, activist, and teaching career, as well as the growth in federal legislation and public policy in the American environmental movement during the 1970s.

2014-2015 Projects

activism in the archives exhibit banner

The inaugural 2014-2015 CART fellowship focused on the papers of Ruth-Marion Baruch, John Thorne, and Karen Tei Yamashita, three activists from the local northern California region. These international icons are united by their dedication to cultural and political activism and their involvement in and/or relationship to the social justice movements of the late 1960s and early 1970s: the Black Power, Flower Power, Red Power, and Yellow Power movements.

CART fellows crystal am nelson, Melissa Eriko Poulsen, and Samantha Williams curated a physical and digital exhibit to showcase these collections, and to provide a culmination for their research and archival processing work throughout the academic year.

To view the digital exhibit and the collection guides for these collections, click the links below: