University Library
Come work with a dedicated and supportive group of colleagues on a gorgeous campus nestled in the redwood forest and overlooking the Pacific Ocean.
UCSC values diversity, equity, and inclusion and is committed to hiring faculty and staff who share these values. The University Library strengthens the UCSC academic enterprise by providing, presenting, and preserving a wide range of information resources. We utilize innovative approaches in working with faculty and students to help them discover, use, manage, and share the array of information that supports their research, teaching, and learning. Please read more about the University Library and our Strategic Directions here.
Undergraduate Engagement Librarian
The University Library at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) invites applications for the position of Undergraduate Engagement Librarian. Under the direction of the Head of Learning, Research & Engagement, the Undergraduate Engagement Librarian will contribute to library efforts to engage with undergraduates in a way that centers student voices and cultivates belonging. The Undergraduate Engagement Librarian will support University and library strategic priorities related to student success, spaces, and equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI). The library supports flexible work arrangements including schedules that combine on-campus and remote work.
For this position, we seek a student-focused and creative individual to help envision how the library can holistically address what students need from the library during their first-year on campus and as they acculturate to academic life. Initially, the Undergraduate Engagement Librarian will (1) contribute to library-wide efforts to develop robust and creative approaches to onboarding first-year undergraduates and transfer students to the library–especially during Campus Welcome Week, and (2) work closely with the Head of Learning, Research & Engagement to re-establish a library student advisory group in a way that supports the library’s student success and EDI goals.
The guiding vision for the work of this position will be shaped by campus needs as identified by the incumbent through their user research and direct engagement with students, student groups, and campus stakeholders. The library looks to this position to identify opportunities and approaches to meaningfully listen to and engage with students, and to communicate what they learn back to their library colleagues. The Undergraduate Engagement Librarian will have the opportunity to experiment, learn, and iterate as they develop inclusive approaches to student outreach, orientations, and engagement that center student needs and student voices and help address barriers to student success.
Interested applicants are invited to attend an informational webinar to learn more about the position, the campus, and the University Library.
The initial review date is April 11, 2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed consideration.
Salary Range: $61,920 - $94,837
For additional details and to apply: https://recruit.ucsc.edu/
Inquiries and nominations may be directed to Katharin Peter, Head of Learning, Research & Engagement (kapeter@ucsc.edu).
Social Sciences Librarian
The University Library at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) invites applications for the position of Social Sciences Librarian. The Social Sciences Librarian will join a growing team of librarians seeking to understand and respond to changing user needs and objectives within an equity and inclusion framework. Under the direction of the Head of Learning, Research & Engagement, the Social Sciences Librarian will support the library's strategic priorities related to student success, teaching/learning, research, and scholarly communication in the social sciences. The library supports flexible work arrangements including schedules that combine on-campus and remote work.
For this position, we seek a user-focused individual with a teaching and learning mindset to lead the library in envisioning its role in support of social science research, teaching, and learning. The library has established social sciences support through our research consultation services, author services, Special Collections & Archives, and the University Library Center for Digital Scholarship, and looks to this position to identify new opportunities and pathways for engaging with social science students, faculty, and researchers. We especially look to this position to engage with faculty and students to develop compelling learning experiences that meet our students where they are at. We welcome candidates who are seeking to launch a career in social science librarianship and/or established librarians seeking professional growth.
Interested applicants are invited to attend an informational webinar to learn more about the position, the campus, and the University Library.
The initial review date is April 11, 2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed consideration.
Salary Range: $61,920 - $94,837
For additional details and to apply: https://recruit.ucsc.edu/
Inquiries and nominations may be directed to Katharin Peter, Head of Learning, Research & Engagement (kapeter@ucsc.edu).
Cataloging Specialist
The University Library Cataloging Specialist will join the Metadata Services department in the pivotal role of providing accurate descriptions for our unique resources. The cataloger is responsible for providing original and complex copy cataloging in all formats, with a focus on streaming and physical media, as well as database maintenance projects, authority work for general library materials, and serving as a departmental resource for adherence to national and international cataloging standards and local policy. In addition, the Cataloging Specialist is responsible for understanding and applying digital object metadata best practices, specifications, and descriptive standards as needed and where indicated. This position has student assistant supervisory responsibilities, overseeing the work of both the physical processing student workers and digital object metadata processing student workers. The Cataloging Specialist will also serve on relevant UCSC and systemwide committees.
The initial review date is 03/25//2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed for consideration. For additional information and to apply, please visit the job posting.
Collections Strategy Analyst
The University Library Collections Strategy Analyst will join the Collections & Services team in a key role to support the library's data-informed review and assessment approach to the acquisition and provision of access to the materials that meet the UCSC community's dynamic research, teaching, and learning objectives. In consultation with the AUL, Collections, and Services, the Collections Analyst will gather data from a variety of sources and synthesize it into outputs that offer insights to help guide the UCSC Library's collections acquisition and access strategies and directly support UC-wide and local (UCSC) actions to diversify the University Library collection.
The Collections Analyst will have the following responsibilities:
The initial review date is 2/28/2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed for consideration. For additional information and to apply, please visit the job posting.
Head of Library Operations
The University Library at UC Santa Cruz seeks a full-time Head of Operations to join the Planning & Resource Management team. The selected candidate will join a collaborative department working to advance the Library's mission by providing an effective resource management infrastructure.
Under the direction of the Associate University Librarian for Planning & Resource Management, the Library Head of Operations is responsible for library building coordination, facilities management, building security, project management, vendor communication, and other related areas including:
The initial review date is 2/28/2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed for consideration. For additional information and to apply, please visit the job posting.
Circulation & Collection Maintenance Coordinator
The University Library at UC Santa Cruz is recruiting a full-time Circulation & Collection Maintenance Coordinator to join the User Services & Resource Sharing department. The selected candidate will join a collaborative department working to:
The successful candidate will:
The initial review date is 2/14/2024. All applications received by this date are guaranteed for consideration. For additional information and to apply, please visit the job posting.
Student employment opportunities in the Library can be found in the Handshake employment system and Career Center website.
The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.
The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.
Santa Cruz, CA