Skip to main content

University
Library

FILM 200A: Introduction to Graduate Study

Login Instructions

Flagship Journals

Become a better searcher by familiarizing yourself with academic journals in this subject area. This is a good way to learn what published journals looked like; what's included in a journal issue. These provides examples of how scholars in this field construct a paper based on their research as well as who they are citing and who is published along side them. Articles are built around original research and/or build on the work of other scholars. Journals are generally published by scholarly societies. Experts in this field serve as editors and reviewers, who accept the articles published in the issues (peer review). 

Explore a journal by looking at the individual issues and by reading the table of contents for some of the issues. Conduct a search; this will search across all of the issues of this journal.

Access to journals is paid for by the University. When the full text is not available (make sure you're logged in correctly), then enter the citation here to find out if UCSC has a copy or if you need to place an InterLibrary Loan order. Articles are sent to your email inbox in 2 days. Books can also be ordered, but these take a little longer (5 days) because the actual book is sent and you have to pick it up in the library.

Understanding and Using a Journal Archives Database

Building on the flagship Journal Searches, is searching a Journal Archives Database. Use them to search across a large number of journals all at once, dating from the earliest issue to very recent ones. Use them for easy searches and large results Use them to gain easy access to the full text.

These databases may include a large numbers of journals, but they do not include every journal. With the exception of Project Muse, the most current/newest journal issues are not included in these databases.

Understanding and Using Subject Indexes

To search broadly in a subject area/discipline or across disciplines, in a fairly comprehensive way, try a subject index.

Searching is relatively easy, but narrower than in the journal archive databases. Instead of searching through the full text for your keywords, these databases only search through the full citation, the abstract, and the subjects each article is given. 

These databases do not provide the text right then and there. Instead, you must click on "UCeLinks" to fetch the text. This should point you to links to online full text (such as JSTOR) or to a form to request the article from the library.

One Search Databaes/Search Engines

Tools to access Books and Journal Articles