The UC Libraries Journal & Database Cost Sharing Model is Changing:
- The historical cost sharing model used to license and pay for UC systemwide journal packages and databases (e.g.: Wiley, Nature, Springer, JSTOR, etc.) is changing.
- The cost sharing model will now be based on campus FTE (a three year rolling average of FTE).
- The model will no longer be based on a three year rolling average of campus collections expenditures.
Why is it Changing?
- For many years, UCSC and other lesser-funded campus libraries benefited from a model that, over time and continuous budget cuts, essentially subsidized lesser-funded campus libraries for having inadequate collections budgets and taxed better-funded campus libraries for having more appropriate collections budgets.
- The better-funded campus collection budgets can no longer subsidize the underfunded campus collections budgets because their budgets are being squeezed more than ever. UCB is taking a $1 million cut to its collections budget, for example, and all of the libraries will take a 6% cut simply based on annual journal inflation rates.
- Additionally, the FTE model is simple to understand, easier to manage/offers greater budgeting predictability, and follows standard practices used by many publishers for pricing resources.
What Does this Mean for UCSC?
- The cost model change will impact our permanent collection budget - we anticipate a maximum of $170,000 in additional costs.
- In order to keep within our collection budget, library journal and database cancellation decisions will need to be made over the course of 2018 & 2019.
- While the Library and COLASC are taking proactive steps to limit the number of cancellations, the most likely scenario will require reducing subscriptions at some level. It is therefore critical to receive timely faculty input to avoid disrupting critical resources and make the most sensible cancellation decisions.
- The campus will need to identify locally licensed journals from across the disciplines to cancel (Examples of local journal subscriptions up for review: Genes & Development, Journal of Computer Game Design, Free Inquiry).
- The campus will also need to review systemwide-subscribed databases to cancel (Examples of systemwide databases to review: Economist Intelligence Unit, CIAO, Philosopher's Index).
Will UC-Wide Resources Also Be Cancelled?
Yes, some UC-wide databases will be cancelled.
- Across the UC, librarians are reviewing database subscriptions. As renewal dates near, campuses will be announcing their intent to keep or cancel access.
NOTE: UCSC is making every effort to remain in systemwide databases throughout the next year so that the campus community may weigh in about the utility of the databases to our local research and teaching needs. However, because renewal dates are scattered throughout the year, other campuses in the UC may decide to drop out of systemwide deals as early as September 2018. If more than 4 campuses elect to cancel, the likelihood that UCSC Library could subscribe on our own, is very, very, low. As these "cancellations by default" are announced, we will share that information with you on this webpage.
UC-Wide Journal Package Renewals & Review (Examples of UC-wide journal packages: Elsevier, Wiley, Springer, Cambridge, GeoRef)
Some UC-wide journal packages will be reconfigured over the course of the next two years. To be very clear, reconfigured can mean:
- some titles will lose perpetual rights but stay in the package.
- some titles will leave packages altogether (no access).
- some new titles will be added to packages.