University Library

Collections

Searching Our Collections

How do I find books, eBooks, journals, newspapers and multimedia?

  • Search the Library's Cruzcat catalog

How do I find journal articles?

Gifts & Donations

General Collection
The University Library has long appreciated gift materials from individuals and organizations. However, due to space constraints and the high cost of reviewing and processing donated materials, we no longer accept most donations of books and other materials for the general collection.

Rare & Archival Material
The Library does appreciate the offer of rare collections or archival materials. If you feel that your collection may have unusual value for the library, you are welcome to contact the Special Collections & Archives.

What to Do with Other Material

Materials such as unbound magazines, journals or newspapers can be recycled via either the UCSC campus recycling program or the Santa Cruz City recycling program. 

Monetary Gifts
The library also welcomes monetary gifts to support its collections, programs and facilities. Learn more about giving to the library.

Recommend a Purchase

Request books or other material not owned by the Library.

  • We can purchase materials needed for your research and/or instruction support.

 

Did You Find What You're Looking For On This Guide?

University Library at UC Santa Cruz

The two library buildings on campus are McHenry Library and the Science & Engineering Library. Our collections include books, journals, newspapers, maps, government documents, multimedia, digital resources, and sound recordings.

We make materials available in multiple formats to support the University's research and instructional programs. The primary emphasis for the library's circulating collection is on making the materials needed for research and instruction available for use by our primary user community (faculty, students, and staff) at their moment of need.