FILM 168F: Francophone African Cinema

home

What we've done so far: The Library pre-work form will be available throughout the quarter for you to consult

What's next?

Database for your FILM classes: Try at least two databases for this assignment

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
MLA International Bibliography (1926-current) This link opens in a new window
Database contains citations for articles, books, and book chapters in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Compiled by the Modern Language Association.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images. Incorporates Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
OBO offers a highly authoritative guide to the key literature in a field. UCSC access includes fields of: Anthropology, Cinema & Media Studies, International Relations, Latin American Studies. Find peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies plus links to cutting edge research from books, applicable journals, primary documents, multimedia and web resources.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing and preserving films. FIAF's editorial staff, along with its Affiliates, produces the International Index to Film Periodicals which offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. This database contains FIAF's "Treasures from Film Archives"; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world. Coverage: 1972 - current
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Includes journals articles, proceedings, monographs, book chapters, and book reviews, 1906 to present.

How to use sources:

Evaluate, write, & cite (Chicago)

How to Read an Academic Paper
A Short Guide to Critical Writing for Students.
A brief (6-page) booklet on the difference between descriptive and critical writing. Additional resource here.
Integrating Sources. - Harvard Guide to Using Sources
This link walks you through the process of integrating a source in your writing.
Cite & Evaluate Sources Worksheet (Chicago)
Use this template to keep track of each source's citation and your analysis of it. To use this, download it as a .doc file or make a copy in Google Docs by signing in.
Bibliography Checklist for Chicago (v.5)
This checklist provides support with citing sources and evaluating and writing about references.

About the Guide's Creator

Hello, My name is Annette and I'm the librarian for the Humanities & Arts.

You can schedule an appointment with me here or email me at research@library.ucsc.edu.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

FILM 168F: Francophone African Cinema

home

Evaluate, write, & cite (Chicago)

About the Guide's Creator

Land Acknowledgement