Art Research Guide

How to Use This Guide

This guide includes the library's resources in Art.

The tabs include resources/databases for:

Primary Sources - Images
Articles & Books - Journal Articles and books on Art topics
Topic Overviews & Bibliographies - Background information, synopses, and curated bibliographies
Writing & Citing - Resources for writing better papers

Below are links to quick links to databases:

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images. Incorporates Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) / Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
Articles, citations, and abstracts from more than 2,500 periodicals, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibitions, and dealers' catalogs of American and European art, published 1975–2007. Provided by the Getty Research Institute (from CSA prior to April 2010).
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor includes images of art from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. All images are accompanied by metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
To save images, upload your own images, and share groups of images with a class, register for an Artstor account. Consult the terms and conditions of use for more information.

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Request a Consultation
with a librarian by phone or Zoom

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Ideas Mapping (2:53 min.)
This video helps with organizing many ideas into independent research questions and logical starting points.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Art Research Guide

How to Use This Guide

Get Research Help

Need help refining your research question(s)?

Land Acknowledgement