Skip to Main Content

Sources for ENVS 140

Getting Started

Discovery Tools | Article Databases | Reports & Analysis | Newspapers | Publicly Available

As you start looking for articles, it's helpful to know the resources available to you. A great place to start is with article databases.

Below are some of the major ones, but you don't have to look in all of them! They each have different strengths, but depending on your topic you may only need to use 1 or 2 of them.

When On-Campus, use Eduroam wifi to connect. If off-campus use the Campus VPN.

Discovery Tools: Library Search & Google Scholar

UC Library Search contains links to articles, book chapters, and books (both print and ebooks). It's a great place to start because it includes numerous databases so you can search many library databases at one time.

Be sure to "Sign In" with your CruzID and Gold password in order to see all access options

Google Scholar allows you to limit to academic/scholarly resources. Be aware some of the algorithmic processes it uses can obscure the context available in regular academic databases. 

Other Article Databases

 You probably won't need to use all of these resources. They are here in case you need more information about your topic.

Reports and Analysis

Newspapers

Look up news articles here. IF you are linking it in a citation, be sure to add the link to a specific article at the news website to make it easier to find. 

Determine if it's publicly available

The library subscribes to (and pays for) numerous specialized databases of articles and other content for students and faculty. While it's not a requirement of this assignment, it's helpful to keep in mind that people who are not affiliated with UCSC don't have the same access unless the author chooses to make their work freely available during the publishing process. This choice is called Open Access.

Open Access means anyone anywhere can read the article (or see a dataset or other item) without encountering a paywall.

Other resources are automatically openly available to anyone - Reports authored by U.S. Government agency scientists are a good example of this.

To determine if something is Open Access or happens to be publicly available:

  • In UC Library Search, look for Open Access next to the title, or limit your search to only Open Access articles
  • Turn off the library VPN or Proxy access (if you are using them) AND reload your browser to see if you still have access to the desired source.

Get It at UC

  • Get it at UC 
    Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

Get Research Help


Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Sign Up for a Consultation 
with a librarian by phone or Zoom