Skip to main content

University
Library

Special Collections & Archives: About Our Collections

collecting strengths and highlights

Remote Services and Activities

The Special Collections and Archives Reading Room is currently closed and in-person services are not available.

We encourage researchers looking for primary sources to visit our guide to Remote Access to Primary Sources and to browse our digital collections as well as online digital repositories such as Calisphere.

All Special Collections staff are working remotely to provide limited services as follows: 

  • Minimal reference services are managed remotely by staff. Reference inquiries that require materials investigation will be held in order of when they were received and responded to once the campus is opened.
  • Class instruction support continues remotely for instructors whose course goals include introducing students to materials, topics, and study in Special Collections & Archives. Please complete a Teaching Support Request Form to ask about how we can help.
  • Digitization services are not available at this time.
  • Please submit all questions and requests to speccoll@library.ucsc.edu.

Explore Our Collections

students cutting a cakeThe unique materials held in Special Collections & Archives at McHenry Library can support a variety of research projects. Holdings include local history, book arts, photography, UCSC history, early printed  books, music, literary archives, history of science, oral histories, artworks and artifacts, and pop culture.

On these pages you'll find information on a variety of collecting strengths, as well as some collection highlights.   

Ready for more?