Skip to main content

University
Library

Special Collections & Archives: About Our Collections

Artists' Books and Fine Press Books

Special Collections supports the thriving Santa Cruz book arts and printing community and documents the presses that were established on the UCSC campus.

Important collections include:

  • The archive of the Trianon Press of Paris, France
  • Editions from renowned California printers at the Grabhorn Press, Arion Press, and Greenwood Press
  • The Pop-Up book collection of Ann Gibb and Sandor Nagyszalanczy
  • Books created and printed by William Everson and others at the UCSC Library's LimeKiln Press (1967-1982.)
  • Experimental book sculptures of artist Gaza Bowen
  • Student work produced at UCSC's Cowell Press

Santa Cruz and Northern California book artists represented in our collections include:

Lime Kiln Press: unidentified printer selecting type

  • Alexander, Jody
  • Bowen, Gaza
  • C+C Press
  • Chen, Julie (Flying Fish Press)
  • Cowell Press
  • Gilman, Felicia
  • Killion, Tom (Quail Press)
  • Lime Kiln Press
  • Post, Jory and Karen Wallace (JoKa Press)
  • Rice, Felicia (Moving Parts Press)
  • Santa Cruz County Artists and Printers
  • Thomas, Peter & Donna
  • Van Velzer, Lawrence G. and Peggy Gotthold (Foolscap Press)
  • Wohlfeiler, Richard
  • Young, Gary (Greenhouse Review Press)

 

Interested in artists' books but aren't sure how to get started? Visit Special Collections, and we'll help you.

 

Rare & Early Printed Books

Special Collections is proud to maintain a representative collection of early European imprints, especially including a distinguished collection of 16th Century Italian printing donated by Professors Hayden White and Margaret Brose.

Other significant concentrations of early printed works include works in the history of astronomy, from the Library at Lick Observatory, a selection of illustrated botanicals, as well as a variety of literary works. 

Our printed book collection, with its variety of bindings, print formats, conditions, and provenance and evidence of use, can successfully be utilized to explore the history of the printed word.

Additionally, our select early manuscripts, supplemented by a variety of books in facsimile, particularly medieval manuscripts, enable students to study the material history of the manuscript codex.