Skip to main content

University
Library

Special Collections & Archives: About Our Collections

collecting strengths and highlights

Remote services during the closure of the Special Collections & Archives Reading Room:

The Special Collections and Archives Reading Room is currently closed until further notice. All Special Collections staff are working remotely and in-person services are closed. All other services will be limited and delayed. 

  • Minimal reference services will be managed remotely by staff. Reference inquiries that require materials investigation will be held in order of when they were received and responded to once the campus is opened
  • Class instruction support continues remotely, whenever possible, using digitized materials. Instructors whose original course goals included introducing students to materials, topics, and study in Special Collections & Archives are invited to be in touch to discuss possibilities.
  • We encourage researchers to browse our digital collections as well as online digital repositories such as Calisphere.
  • Digitization services are not available at this time.
  • Please submit all questions and requests to speccoll@library.ucsc.edu.

Explore Our Collections

students cutting a cakeThe unique materials held in Special Collections & Archives at McHenry Library can support a variety of research projects. Holdings include local history, book arts, photography, UCSC history, early printed  books, music, literary archives, history of science, oral histories, artworks and artifacts, and pop culture.

On these pages you'll find information on a variety of collecting strengths, as well as some collection highlights.   

Ready for more?