University Library

Special Collections & Archives

Fee Information

UCSC Special Collections & Archives charges fees for reproduction services on a cost recovery basis. Payments must be made by credit card via the UCSC Special Collections Request System. Payments may also be made by check, made out to the University of California Regents. Payment in full is required before orders are processed. Sales tax will be added to all reproductions.

 

UC users: UC users are defined as UC faculty, staff, and students. UC user fees apply to university-directed research only. Patrons are limited to requesting up to 100 reproductions per year.

 

Processing Fee: A processing fee of $30 per hour after the first 2 hours will be charged for work performed by Special Collections to cover the search and retrieval of material. If thumbnail images are required for final selection and ordering of reproductions, a processing fee of $30 per hour, starting with the first hour, will be charged for work performed by Special Collections to create thumbnail files.

Shipping and mailing costs: There is no charge for digital files delivered via email. Costs for special mail handling such as UPS express, overnight delivery, or special shipping will be added accordingly to the reproduction and usage costs.

Reproduction Fees

High Resolution Digital Images (TIFF, JPEG)

 

This price is inclusive of a high resolution, 16 bit RGB TIFF file and electronic delivery. For more details on scanning resolutions, see the explanation page.

 

Service Fee (per image)

UC Users

Non-UC Users

Original scan (no high-resolution digital image on file)

$30 + tax

$60 + tax

Duplicate scan (high-resolution digital image already on file)

$15 + tax

$30 + tax

Processing fee (by the hour)

 

For original duplications, estimate 2-3 hours total. For duplicate files, estimate 1 hour total.

Waived for the first 2 hours; $30 per hour thereafter

Waived for the first 2 hours; $30 per hour thereafter

 


 

Text Documents (PDFs)

We are unable to create PDF scans of photographs, negatives, slides or transparencies. Photocopies are no longer provided.

 

Service Fee (per page)

UC Users

Non-UC Users

8.5x11 or smaller

$.50 + tax

$1 + tax

Oversized material

$1 + tax

$2 + tax

Processing fee (per transaction, by the hour)

 

For PDF scans, estimate 1-2 hours per transaction.

Waived for the first hour; $30 per hour thereafter

Waived for the first hour; $30 per hour thereafter

Use Fees

While UCSC Special Collections & Archives owns the materials in our collections, we typically do not own the copyright to these materials, except where it has been explicitly transferred to the UC Regents, or when the material was created by the university. Permission fees are only charged for materials with copyright owned by UC Regents. UC users are not charged a use fee for materials with copyright owned by UC Regents. Permission is granted for one time non-exclusive use.

 

Please cite all reproductions:

“Courtesy Special Collections, University Library, University of California Santa Cruz. [collection name.]”

 

Use Fee (per item)

Non-profit Use

Commercial Use

Print/Editorial/E-Book

$30

$100

Book Cover/ Advertising/Non-editorial (cards, calendar, etc.)

$150

$300

Book Cover

$150

$300

Video/Television/Film

$30

$300

Internet/Web Site/Mobile App

 

Citation must link to UCSC Special Collections website.

$0

$100

Exhibition (use of reproduction or in online exhibit)

$30

$100

Thesis/Dissertation

$0

n/a

Re-use in same publication

$15

$50

Re-use in additional promotional use (e.g., publicity posters, etc.)

$7.50

$25

Social Media Use

 

Facebook: “like” the UCSC Library’s page so you can tag @ucsclibrary and/ or #ucsclibrary when posting Library images

 

Twitter: tag @UCSCLibrary and/ or #ucsclibrary when tweeting Library images

 

Instagram: tag @ucsc_library and/ or #ucsclibrary when sharing Library images

$0

$0