- ABC-CLIO eBooks
Full text electronic access to encyclopedias, handbooks, and biographical works in all academic subjects. Individual titles are searchable, though the collection is not cross-searchable.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature indexes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published worldwide from 1920 onwards with links to the full text of 61 journals.
- Academic Search Complete from EBSCO
Database of articles in peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and news sources with full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study.
- Access World News
Full-text access to newspapers at the local, state, regional, national and international levels. From Newsbank.
Online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology (9th ed.) with content from annual yearbooks, McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms and Science News.
- Acta Sanctorum
Database of complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the sixty-eight volume publication by the Soci√©t√© des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. Contains documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day.
- Africa-Wide Information
Database covering all aspects of Africa dating back to the 16th century from 40 different worldwide databases. Includes African HealthLine, South African Studies and African Studies. Formerly: Africa-Wide NiPAD
- African American Music
Note: Content from African American Music is now a part of American Song. Included are songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Full-text of african american 19th century newspapers: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, and The Christian Recorder,
- African American Poetry 1750-1900
Database of 3,000 poems by African American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.
Citations and abstracts for articles on all aspects of agriculture.
An international, collaborative initiative building a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa. A wide variety of contributed scholarly materials, ranging from archival documents, periodicals, books, reports, manuscripts, and reference works, to three-dimensional models, maps, oral histories, plant specimens, photographs, and slides. Organized into: African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes, African Plants, and Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable database of text of early American newspapers. Articles and pages can be viewed as images in a Web browser, or downloaded as pdf documents. Part of the Archive of Americana collection from Newsbank/Readex.
- America's News Magazines from Newsbank
Searchable database of select news magazines including Money and U.S. News and World Report.
- America: History and Life (AHL)
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts for articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
This searchable database contains the full text of approximately 32,000 pages of letters, diaries and memoirs. Over 460 authors are represented, including politicians, generals, slaves, landowners, farmers, seaman, wives, and spies. The letters and diaries are by the famous and the unknown, giving not only both the Northern and Southern perspectives, but those of foreign observers also.
- American Drama 1714-1915
Full-text searchable, browsable collection of over 700 plays.
- American History in Video
Online collection of video on American history and includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
- American Meteorological Society Journals
Searchable full-text of journals from the AMS.
- American National Biography (ANB)
This searchable database contains information on more than American 17,400 men and women. Each entry contains a bibliography for further research and some have photos.
- American Periodical Series Online (APS)
This searchable database includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from 1741 to 1900. From Proquest.
- American poetry 1600-1900
Searchable, browseable collection of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets.
- American Song
Searchable database of online music recordings that will contain 50,000 tracks from America's past. Incorporates African American Music (previously a separate database). The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- American State Papers
Primary source material comprised of over 6,000 documents of U.S congressional materials from 1789 through 1838.
- Anthropology Plus
Combines both “Anthropological Literature” and “Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute”. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
Searchable database of journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA)
- AP Images Collection (Accunet)
(Formerly Accunet AP Photo Archive) Primary source database from the Associated Press with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 185 years. Over 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, more than 340,000 graphics including maps, graphs, charts, logos, flags, illustrations and more. Images and selective newspapers articles are royalty free for educational use by UCSC faculty, staff, and students only.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Covers aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography, ocean technology policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Includes citations and abstracts.
- Archive of Americana
Collectively search "Early American Imprints: Series 1 1639-1800" (Evans), "Early American Imprints: Series 2 1801-1819" (Shaw-Shoemaker), "Early American Newspapers 1690-1876", "American State Papers 1789-1838", and the "US Congressional Serials Set 1817-1980". Publisher is Newsbank.
Includes nearly a million collection descriptions of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives from around the world.
- Art Full Text
Articles, citations, and abstracts from art periodicals published world-wide.
- Art Retrospective
Articles listed in Art Index volumes 1-32. Also known as Art Index Retrospective. Covers: Advertising, archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, design, folk art, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, photography, television, textiles, and more
- Art Source
Over 640 full-text journals and more than 225 full-text books covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, architecture and architectural design. Coverage dating back to 1929. Includes an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. Combines former H.W. Wilson Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
Abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
Database of over 2,600 French language texts from the American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language
The Article First database from Firstsearch/OCLC provides citations from the table of contents pages of journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index via Web of Science
This Web of Knowledge database contains citations to 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Search by subject, author, and journal title. Cited Reference Search finds articles that cite an author or article specified by the searcher.
ARTstor is a digital library of over one million images from many time periods and cultures in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Open access to 546,172 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
- ASCC (Academia Sinica Computing Center Electronic Resources)
Chinese full-text database for hundreds of works in history (including history of Taiwan), classics, religion, medicine, literature, and law, etc. Chinese input software required to search.
- Asian American Drama
Full-text searchable and browsable database of plays written by Asian American authors. Contains character and bibliographic information for each play, plus production details for selected plays.
- Association for Computing Machinery Digital Library
Searchable database contains bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1947.
- Astrophysics Data Systems (NASA ADS)
ADS contains abstracts and citations for materials in astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, Los Alamos preprints, and many archives.
- ATLA Religion Database
Database of journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Subjects include church history, theology, the Bible, and world religions.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ARCH)
Citations to articles on the following topics: architecture, architectural design, city planning, furniture and decoration, interior design, historic preservation, history of architecture, and urban planning.