Access Library Resources from On-Campus and Off-Campus

What is it?

Shibboleth allows direct login to a limited number of library databases from off-campus.

It is an alternative to the Off-campus Access Proxy and Campus VPN services.

What Can I Access?

Several databases, journals and e-books are available via Shibboleth:

Elsevier publications, including ScienceDirect and Reaxys
HaithiTrust resources (including UC books scanned by Google)
ProQuest databases, including EconLit, ERIC, Ethnic Newswatch, GeoRef, LexisNexis Academic, ProQuest Historical Newspapers, PsycINFO, Sociological Abstracts, and more
Royal Society of Chemistry journals, books and databases
and more...

Why Use It?

Log in with your CruzID and Gold password
When the Off-campus Access Proxy service is unavailable, many resources will be available via Shibboleth

Why Not Use It

In some cases, the Campus VPN or Off-campus Access Proxy services are better to use because

Shibboleth works with a limited number of databases
UC-eLinks don't always work when using Shibboleth

Shibboleth Login

ProQuest Databases via Shibboleth This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed journal articles, books, chapters and essays, dissertations, and more. Select a subject area or search across all subjects. Why use Shibboleth?

1. Select region: United States
2. Choose institution: University of California, Santa Cruz
3. Select Login
4. Use your CruzID Gold password to sign on
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This is digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives, including UCSC.

ITS Support Center

831-459-HELP (9-4357)
help@ucsc.edu
Open an ITRequest Ticket
Kerr Hall Rm 54
Monday-Friday, 8am to 5pm

Who is eligible?

UCSC Faculty, Staff & Students

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library