This is the "Other Library Services: Shibboleth" page of the "Access Library Resources from Off-campus" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Access Library Resources from Off-campus   Tags: find help, how do i...?  

Last Updated: Mar 3, 2014 Guide URL: http://guides.library.ucsc.edu/offcampusaccess Print Guide RSS Updates

Other Library Services: Shibboleth Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is it?

Shibboleth allows authentiction to a limited number of licensed library databases from off-campus.

It is an alternative to the Off-campus Access OCA proxy service.

 

Who is eligible?

UCSC Faculty, Staff & Students.

 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a librarian

In Person | Phone | Email | Chat

 

What Can I Access?

Currently only a limited number of databases are available via shibboleth:

  • ProQuest databases, including ERIC, Sociological Abstracts, GeoRef, EconLit, PsycINFO, Ethnic Newswatch, ProQuest Historical Newspapers and more.
  • HaithiTrust resources (collection includes UC books scanned by Google), such as those found linked in Melvyl.

 

Why Use It?

  • You don't need your student or library card number. Use your cruzid gold password instead.
  • No changes are required to the network settings of your home computer
  • When the OCA Off-campus Access system is unavailable, licensed resources (such as the ProQuest databases) will be available via Shibboleth.

 

Why Not Use It

In many cases, the OCA service is better to use because

  • Shibboleth works with a very limited number of databases
  • UC-eLinks don't always work when using Shibboleth

Shibboleth Login

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip