University Library

About General Collections

Gift Policy

The University Library has long appreciated gift materials from individuals and organizations

Over the years, these donated books and other materials have enriched the library collection immensely.

However, the University Library no longer accepts donations of books for the general, circulating collection.

The Library does appreciate the offer of rare collections or archival materials.

What Special Collections & Archives especially wants:

Collections of archival or rare material are of strong interest.

If you feel that your collection may have unusual value for the library, you are welcome to contact the Special Collections & Archives (831) 459-2459.

What to do with other materials

  1. In general, unbound magazines, journals, newspapers and other such material should be recycled; both the UCSC campus mixed-paper recycling program and the Santa Cruz County recycling program accept such material.

  2. We suggest that you deliver all other materials, including books, recordings, and audio-visual material to Logos Books and Records. Logos, in downtown Santa Cruz, is happy to accept materials in any quantity. If you wish your material to benefit the University Library, you may indicate this to the Logos staff; you will be provided a gift form for tax purposes and the library will receive credit for those materials that Logos will resell, providing the library with money to purchase needed books.

Contact information:

  • Head of Special Collections: Elisabeth Remak-Honnef, 831-459-2459

  • Logos Books and Records, 1117 Pacific Ave, Santa Cruz, CA; 831-427-5100 (press 6 to make an appointment)

  • Debbie Shayne, main gifts contact at Logos Books and Records, 831-427-5104