The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Coverage: 1790 to present
Online source for California and U.S. public policy issues with an emphasis on statistics. RAND California's statistics include the following main categories: Business and Economics, Health and Socioeconomic, Population and Demographics, Government Finance, Education, Census, Community, Politics and Public Opinion.
Single comprehensive source of statistics on children and families in the United States. Browse through reports or visit "Search Related Resources" and "Whom can I contact for Federal statistics on children and families?"
Archive of detailed data sets in the social sciences. Covers: sociology, political science, criminology, history, education, demography, gerontology, international relations, public health, economics, and psychology. Some data files may require specialized software such as STATA, SPSS, SAS, etc., which are not provided by the library.
Find Articles
Start with one of these databases, depending on your topic:
Searchable database of articles from scholarly business journals and other sources. Subjects include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.
Find Reports
The following sources contain detailed descriptions of statistical reports and will lead you to other sources. They can be challenging to use, particularly for the novice. Ask Reference staff for assistance, if you have difficulty.
American Statistics Index (ASI) Index to U.S. Government produced statistics and statistical reports (federal agencies, Bureau of the Census, etc.). Covers government finance, government programs, population characteristics, aid to foreign countries, etc. In print: McH Ref HA37.U55A6
Index to International Statistics (IIS) Statistics for foreign countries and United Nations reports. Also includes reports from organizationis such as the World Health Organization, World Trade Organization, etc.. Covers population, business, financial activities, foreign trade, education, health, and political characteristics. In print: McH Ref HA154.I53
Statistical Reference Index (SRI) Selective guide to statistical publications from private organizations and state government sources. Covers business, industry, finance, social trends, and government programs. In print: McH Ref HA214.S73
Using these sources is a three step process:
Look up the subject or topic in the Index volume for a given year to find relevant publications. Write down the accession number.
Find the Abstract volume for the corresponding year and look up the accession number. This will take you to the comprehensive description of the publication.
Look up the publication in CRUZCAT to see if the UCSC library has access to it.
Off-Campus Access
Off-Campus Access
To access databases licensed by the university from Off Campus login to OCA.