Ocean Sciences Research Guide

Article Databases

Multidisciplinary:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.

Subject Specific:

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
Covers aquatic science, aquatic organisms, fisheries, oceanography, ocean technology policy and non-living resources, and aquatic pollution and environmental quality. Includes citations and abstracts.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Describes materials in geology and geophysics, in particular: energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, groundwater pollution, erosion, nuclear reactor sites, the structure of the earth, and geostatistics. Includes abstracts.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles in the life sciences. Very interdisciplinary within biology, including biochemistry, ecology, genetics, microbiology, ocean sciences, plant biology, and zoology. Can sort by citation count.
INSPEC This link opens in a new window
Index of citations for articles and conference papers on physics, electrical engineering, computer engineering, and information technology. Contains abstracts.

Publisher Specific:

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This database contains much technology related, oceanic-themed content.

Get It at UC

Displays in databases that only describe the sources (these usually only include citations and abstracts). Use it to find links to the full item or request it through interlibrary loan.

Connect From Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals, databases:

Use your Cruz ID when prompted
- Easiest when starting from a UCSC Library webpage!
Use the Nomad extension for quick links to subscription-based full text.

Preprints

MarXiv
Preprint server for ocean conservation and ocean climate papers.
bioRxiv
The preprint server for biology disciplines. Operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
OceanDocs
OceanDocs is supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) to collect, preserve and facilitate discovery and access to all research output from members of the ocean research and observation community.
Aquatic Commons
A digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments.

arXiv.org This link opens in a new window
Open access to over one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
eScholarship Repository This link opens in a new window
Includes Open Access journals, working papers, previously published works, conferences, and books from departments, research units, publishing programs, and individual scholars associated with the University of California. eScholarship is also serves as a platform for affiliates to have direct control over the creation and dissemination of the full range of their scholarship.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library