Anthropology Research Guide

Connect from Your Computer

For access to e-books, online journals & databases:

For Off-Campus Access - Use the Campus VPN
For On-Campus Wireless Access - Use eduroam (note: Cruznet no longer works for access to library resources.)

Find Articles & Books in Anthropology Databases

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. Provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, and interdisciplinary studies. Excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of journal articles published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA)
AnthroHub This link opens in a new window
This databases indexes journals and monographs produced by the Department of Anthropology at UC Berkeley together with searchable citations and links to anthropological works in all formats created by and about UC Berkeley anthropologists. Full text is available for many of these. Dates covered include 1896-present.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
OBO offers a highly authoritative guide to the key literature in a field. UCSC access includes fields of: Anthropology, Cinema & Media Studies, International Relations, Latin American Studies. Find peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies plus links to cutting edge research from books, applicable journals, primary documents, multimedia and web resources.

Find Articles & Books in Academic Databases & Catalogs

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database of scholarly articles. Searches citation indexes in Arts and Humanities, Social Science, and Science. Includes "cited by" feature and allows sorting by citation count.
UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
This searches across all 10 UC Library collections and beyond. Sign in using your CruzID Gold in order to find: books, e-books, articles, journals, films, maps, and more.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Database covering many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and online repositories. Use Eduroam (on campus), or the VPN (off-campus) to access full-text of UCSC subscribed content.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database includes the full text of journals starting with their very first issue and eBooks and eChapters. Note, current issues are not available in JSTOR. Consult the journals list for information on years of coverage. For wider coverage of a topic, consult the database best suited to your discipline.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text articles of 400+ peer-reviewed journals from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Arts, humanities, and social sciences – full-text scholarly journal archives. The contents is indexed in Periodicals Index Online
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
This is the FirstSearch version: A union catalog, it enables you to search the holdings of libraries across the country and internationally.
Catalogs generally contain: books, journal titles, sound recordings, movies, newspapers and so on.

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library

Anthropology Research Guide

Connect from Your Computer

Find Articles & Books in Anthropology Databases

Find Articles & Books in Academic Databases & Catalogs

Land Acknowledgement