Skip to main content

University Library

Cite Sources: Plagiarism resources

Why Cite?

Plagiarism is using the words or ideas of someone else as though they were your own.
 

Carefully citing your sources:

No Plagiarism
  • gives credit to authors whose works you have used
  • creates a trail so others can find the materials you used
  • provides evidence of your research
  • is the ethical & standard practice for students and scholars

Plagiarism interactive tutorials

 

  • Accidental Plagiarism - Don't Let it Happen to You  
    Univ. of Arizona - Interactive, self-paced tutorial designed to teach you how to avoid accidental plagiarism by understanding how it can occur and how to avoid it through correct use of paraphrasing, summarizing, and quoting of resources. A brief, instantly assessed quiz is included 
  • The Plagiarism Court: You Be the Judge  
    This well-designed, interactive tutorial from Fairfield University provides an overview of plagiarism and its legal and ethical consequences. Most importantly it suggests "notetaking, documentation and writing strategies to help you avoid accidental plagiarism". A quiz section provides an opportunity to check your understanding and to receive feedback on your choices. It is also available in a non-Flash html version.
  • You Quote It, You Note It  
    This interactive tutorial from Acadia University (Canada) discusses plagiarism by comparing paraphrasing and quoting, shows how to properly do both as well as how to properly cite your sources. And, it only takes about 10 minutes to complete!
  • Oops, I Plagiarized
    Produced by UCLA, this module is full of information, some quirky tidbits and includes a final quiz. 
  • What is Plagiarism?
    From Rutgers University (NJ), this is an informative yet humorous introduction to plagiarism including tips to improve your writing in an effort to avoid plagiarism. The tutorial consists of two flash movies and a quiz to test your understanding of the content. 
  • Avoiding Plagiarism
    This interactive tutorial and quiz from Mt. Hood Community College (OR) is a simple introduction to plagiarism and how to cite sources.  
  • Acknowledging Sources  
    U. Of Texas, Arlington - includes examples of plagiarism in real life, outside of the classroom (like the New York Times and government documents) good use of charts and diagrams
  • The University of Southern Mississippi   
    provides quizzes before you review the materials, during your review, and post-review results of your pre-test and post-test will be mailed to yourself and your professor
  • The University Of Maryland University College
    Extremely comprehensive, includes lots of examples and style guidelines. Includes a post-quiz that analyzes your results and tells you which section of the tutorial to go over 

Plagiarism videos

  • Avoiding Plagiarism: What Do I Need to Cite?
    This 65 second video from Iowa State University, answers the main question, What do I need to cite? 

Plagiarism games