University Library

ARTSTOR

Citation Examples

Always check with your instructor for preferences regarding citation formats. Below are a few examples of citation formats with more available at Citing ARTstor:

A museum object

Brief Citation
Artist's Name (First and Last)
Title and Date
Museum Name and Location
Image Source and ID Number

Example:
Andokides Painter
Neck-Handled Amphora: Herakles & Cerberus, Ca. 510 B.C.
Musée du Louvre, Paris, France
ARTstor: UCSD_41822000405785

Full Citation
Artist's Name (First and Last), Artist's Nationality and Dates
Title and Date of the Work
Materials and Dimensions of the Work
Museum Name and Location
Image Source and ID Number

Example:
Edward Hopper, American, 1882-1967
Early Sunday Morning, 1930
Oil on canvas, 35 3/16 x 60 1/4 in. (89.4 x 153 cm)
Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, NY, US
ARTstor: CARNEGIE_4840004

An internet resource (Electronic Database)

Title of the Work
Artist's Name (First and Last)
Date of the Work
Image Source
Date of Citation
Electronic Database

Example:
Haystacks. Claude Monet. 1890. In ARTstor [database online]. [cited 22 October 2004]. Available from ARTstor, Inc., New York, New York.

An internet resource (World Wide Web Site)

Title of the Work
Artist's Name (First and Last)
Date of the Work
Image Source
Date of Citation
World Wide Web Site

Example:
Haystacks. Claude Monet. 1890. ARTstor [online]. New York: New York. [cited 22 October 2004]. Available from World Wide Web:(http://www.artstor.org).


Export Citations to Citation Management Software

Export to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager

You can export ARTstor image citations directly into these programs. More export options are available here.  First you will need to download and save a dedicated filter to your computer. Filters can be downloaded from:

  1. To begin, select individual images with a single click. In the ARTstor navigation bar, click Tools > Save citations for selected images
    OR
    Open an image group and in ARTstor navigation bar click Tools > Save citations for image group
  2. A confirmation message appears confirming the citations were saved.To see what you’ve selected, click Tools > View and export citations. A new browser window will open with image thumbnails. Check boxes for images to export as bibliographic citations.
  3. At the top of the Saved citations page you have four export/ save options:
  4. Select Export citations into EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager.
  5. A small window will open asking whether you would like to open or save the file. Click Open
  6. Your computer's directory will open, prompting you to select a library or bibliographic database that you have already created to import these new citations. Choose one.
  7. A new window will open, asking you to choose a filter. If you have saved the ARTstor filter to the appropriate location, you will be able to scroll down the list and find one entitled "ARTstor."
  8. Once you select the filter, your library/bibliographic database will open with your new citations imported directly from ARTstor.

Export to RefWorks

If you have an account with RefWorks, the online bibliographic management program, you may export ARTstor citations directly to your account.

  1. See steps 1-3 above...
  2. Select "Export options" section click Export citations into RefWorks
  3. You will be automatically forwarded to the RefWorks web site, where you can log in to your account. Once you log in, RefWorks will begin importing your ARTstor citations.