Skip to Main Content

Grateful Dead Research Guide

Printed Reference Works

The following books, and many others, can be found by searching among the Library's holdings:

The American Book of the Dead by Trager, Oliver
Call Number: ML421.G72 T67 1997
ISBN: 0684814021
Publication Date: 1997-12-04
A basic reference and overview of all matters Dead. Additional copy in Special Collections.
The Deadhead's taping compendium : an in-depth guide to the music of the Grateful Dead on tape by Getz, Michael M. and John R. Dwork
Call Number: McH Ref ML156.7 G74 G48 1998 v.1-3
ISBN: 0805058478
Publication Date: 1998
Additional copies in the McHenry Stacks and Special Collections.
The Grateful Dead and the deadheads : an annotated bibliography by Dodd, David G. and Robert G. Weiner
Call Number: McH Ref ML134.5 G73 D6 1997
ISBN: 0313301417
Publication Date: 1997
Additional copies in the McHenry Stacks and Special Collections.
Skeleton key: a dictionary for deadheads by Shenk, David and Steve Silberman
Call Number: McH Ref ML421.G72 S5 1994
ISBN: 0385474024
Publication Date: 1994
The Sixties in America by Singleton, Carl
Call Number: McH Ref E841.S55 1999 v.1-3
ISBN: 0893569828
Publication Date: 1999

Online Reference Sources

Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
Searchable, full-text database of biographies. Search for current and historical figures based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as keyword and full text. Formerly: Biography Resource Center.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research

Oxford Music Online
Read the full encyclopedia entries for the following resources: Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Reading the Dead: A Basic Grateful Dead Bibliography (PDF) / Nicholas Meriwether and Robert G. Weiner

Call Numbers

How to read call numbers and Library locations

Get Research Help

Email a Librarian
send us your questions directly

Sign Up for a Consultation
with a librarian by phone or Zoom

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted. See details.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login