Film & Digital Media Research Guide

Login Instructions

To Search the resources and databases linked on this guide from your laptop, you'll need to enter your CRUZ ID and Gold Password when prompted.

Go to Unpaywall.org and install the browser extension. This extension will alert you when there is an accessible version of the paper.

Another alternative is to install the campus VPN for more reliable access. Login so that you can access PDF attachments and ebooks from behind paywalls.

VPN Client Installation
Use this secure and reliable login to access the Library's resources. You will need to install the VPN and login with your CRUZ ID and Gold Password. Use Ask Us to let us know if something isn't working.

Film

Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new window
Video collection of documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, presenting points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Alexander Street Press Video Collections
Nonfiction film, includes streaming video in Theater, Ethnography, American History, World History and Education. Use "Collections" to find each of these collections.

UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
Don't forget to use Search to access the UCSC Library DVD collection located in the Digital Scholarship Commons.

Ephemera, Credits, & Box Office Information

Women Film Pioneers Project https://wfpp.cdrs.columbia.edu/
Media History Digital Library http://mediahistoryproject.org/

Treasures from the Film Archives - Dataset
In Advanced Search use Publication Title to search for "Treasures from the Film Archives". This publication contains credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world.
IMDb (The Internet Movie Database)
(IMDB) provides information on over 400,000 films; in the left-hand menu, under the category "Other Info" is "Box Office and Business" information that is not provided in the other sources; similarly, under "Promotional" one can view posters and trailers (requiring Windows Media) online.
The Movie Times
Contains Box Office information

Other Places to look:

DVDs of films may contain additional material including trailers, interviews, and other valuable information.

Reviews

News & Newspapers from ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database provides current and historical newspapers from across UCSC's collection of Proquest databases, including Historical Newspapers, Black Newspapers, Ethnic NewsWatch, International Newsstream and others. Access to these databases is ongoing.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection provides full text content for local, regional, national and international news sources. Include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, and broadcast transcripts. Provides a map-based interface to search and sort. Coverage date vary, 1978 - Current.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Database with citations from 512 leading U.S. magazines. Covers 1890-1982.

Other Places to look:

Film reviews and review indexes for older films can also be found in the library. The call number range REF PN 1993 to REF PN 1995 in the McHenry reference stacks has numerous multi-volume sets.

Movie Review Query Engine
Links to reviews found on the internet

1156 High Street spacer bullet

Santa Cruz, CA spacer bullet

95064

Feedback

Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License except where otherwise noted.

Patrons with Disabilities
Privacy Policy

Staff Portal
LibApps Login
Incident Form (staff only)

Land Acknowledgement

The land on which we gather is the unceded territory of the Awaswas-speaking Uypi Tribe. The Amah Mutsun Tribal Band, comprised of the descendants of indigenous people taken to missions Santa Cruz and San Juan Bautista during Spanish colonization of the Central Coast, is today working hard to restore traditional stewardship practices on these lands and heal from historical trauma.

The land acknowledgement used at UC Santa Cruz was developed in partnership with the Amah Mutsun Tribal Band Chairman and the Amah Mutsun Relearning Program at the UCSC Arboretum.

University Library